Resistor Mod?

Discussion in 'Rocket Performance' started by Jimbeamrye, Aug 19, 2007.

  1. idk

    idkLiving Legend

    Messages:
    3,367
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2,974
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ride:
    2006 RIII Classic; Royal Enfield Bullet
    Don't bother with the resistor mod. That was for the days before TuneECU, or even other much more expensive options. You can remove the speed limiter with TuneECU, or at least move it to somewhere you will never reach. However, if you do reach it, I want to see the video. :)
     
    Joesmoe likes this.
  2. Rocket Scientist

    Rocket ScientistGrand Exulted Poobah

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    5,069
    Featured Threads:
    96
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6,247
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Spring Lake, Michigan
    Ride:
    RED 05' Rocket III standard
    I believe Bill said the ECU in the Thruxton is locked.
     
  3. idk

    idkLiving Legend

    Messages:
    3,367
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2,974
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ride:
    2006 RIII Classic; Royal Enfield Bullet
    Sorry, I missed that part.
     
  4. Rocket Scientist

    Rocket ScientistGrand Exulted Poobah

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    5,069
    Featured Threads:
    96
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6,247
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Spring Lake, Michigan
    Ride:
    RED 05' Rocket III standard
    That was mentioned in our phone conversation, so it was intel you had no access too. ;)
     
  5. HansO

    HansONot Taking Life Too Seriously

    Messages:
    13,422
    Featured Threads:
    95
    Media:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8,739
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Batemans Bay, NSW, Aus
    Ride:
    08 Rocket III R.I.P now TEX Triumph Explorer
    Most of the 1200 Bonnie's motors have locked ECU's, DealerTool is about All you can use on them and then it is only for maintenance purposes.
    If Triumph plan to keep making the Rocket for a lot of the EU countries they will end up locking the ECU on the Rocket as Well so they can comply to the new Emissions Standards, my Explorer is Locked but I'm a glad to say it runs smooth as silk and goes like a cut snake if you get on it and I am not intending to find it's speed limiter
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2017
  6. barbagris

    barbagrisMad Scientist

    Messages:
    4,728
    Featured Threads:
    42
    Media:
    81
    Likes Received:
    3,647
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    On the verge of insanity : Madrid - Spain
    Ride:
    2009 R3-Standard - 1979 Guzzi V1000G5
    iirc the Trophy is locked too.
     
  7. Idaho Red Rocket 3

    Idaho Red Rocket 3Living Legend

    Messages:
    3,163
    Featured Threads:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2,506
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Nampa, Idaho
    Ride:
    2006 R3 Standard Bagger w/Fairing
    I wonder if the TuneECU guys are working on a hack ?
     
  8. barbagris

    barbagrisMad Scientist

    Messages:
    4,728
    Featured Threads:
    42
    Media:
    81
    Likes Received:
    3,647
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    On the verge of insanity : Madrid - Spain
    Ride:
    2009 R3-Standard - 1979 Guzzi V1000G5
    To the best of my knowledge - part of the Euro4 thing is that ECU's simply break if one attempts to modify.
    iirc a guy with a tamperproof Tiger was hit with punitive bill as ONLY the factory (not even dealers) can reflash.

    The future for new bikes will be PIGGY-BACK devices.
    Though I know from my neighbour that some car ECUs can detect even this.
    Like the infamous programming by VW - the ECU can be programmed to expect certain conditions.
    Generic PiggyBacks may not be enough.
     
Loading...