Cleaning carbon buildups

imcool

Supercharged
Ride
Rocket 3R 2022
hello, I am wondering if this carbon cleaning should be done after certain number of miles/km to prolong engine life and keep it at maximum efficiency?

Just an idea came up in my mind, I am not an expert about engines or stuff but I am being precautious and trying to do extra preventative maintenance.

Not sure there is a better answer than "absolutely no".

There is no good reason unless you are having some other issues and even then why you would want to do this I have no idea.

You are asking for trouble rather than preventing it. IMDO.
I aint no engine geek so I asked on forum here, Can you explain why shouldnt it be done? As carbon buildup is something which will be an issue in future for sure so why not keep it check now.

You posted in your post "I ain't no engine geek" after you asked "I am wondering if this carbon cleaning should be done after certain number of miles/km to prolong engine life and keep it at maximum efficiency" You got an answer but you didn't like it. The answer remains there is no good reason to do it.

Here's WHY my answer is "There is no good reason to do this work" and it's so when the next person sees this post and they say "Hey, I wonder if I need to tear apart my engine to see if I get another 1/2 hp more?", they DON'T wreck their bike for NO GOOD REASON. When as best as I can tell from owning 3 Rockets (with 100,000km +) there is no need, no justification, no reason whatsoever to do this. Other than you want to tinker around.

Alas, be sure to let us know how you make out with the work or what you end up riding next season when you pooch this.

Last edited:
OK gents, let's cool it? Modern fuel injection systems are lean burn and do not build up carbon deposits in the combustion chambers. You can pull apart an engine with 100,000 on it and there will be very little carbon in there. Certainly not enough to affect performance - or anything else.