Wrapping the Viking Headers

Boog

Traveling Story Teller
Ride
2014 R3T, RAMAIR, Full Viking Dual exhaust
Well, many of you know that Brahma had a heart transplant this January. The Viking exhaust system I put on awhile back has unprotected headers and I have burned quite a few holes in my pants. Well, since my old tune was lean and discolored the chrome horribly, and my mistreatment of the bike in general by keeping it outside all its life, the headers are also now rusting. So, to cover my lack of care and to protect my pants, I wrapped the headers today.

Disclaimer: this is my first attempt and I believe I will redo this wrap later with a titanium wrap vice this painful fiberglass wrap. The Hi-Temp Silicone coating that came with the kit is white, not the color I want.
Also, I did not take the pipes off the bike before wrapping. This would make for an easier wrap but added wrench time.

The outside temp is around 45°F, Hazel was going to help but I told her to stay inside for the temp and because I didn't want her to handle the fiberglass wrap. Even using gloves, I got fiber stuck in my hands, no fun.

To start with, the three bikes in the front of the house.
20230211a.jpg

A close up look at the discolored and rusty pipes.
20230211b.jpg
20230211c.jpg

I start on the back header as close to the collector as I can get.
20230211d.jpg

I measured pretty good and only have about six inches left to cut away.
20230211e.jpg

The metal bands are a bit fiddly. Once hand tight, take your Leatherman off your hip and twist the band tighter.
20230211f.jpg
20230211g.jpg

Here I realize I made a mistake. That middle pipe is too tight to get lower. I should have started wrapping below the back down pipe and double wrapped it for the first few inches. Doing it my way in the picture left a gap later.
20230211h.jpg