Valve shim size

redtrek

.040 Over
Ride
2006 Rocket III Classic
I'm putting together an order of items to do my own tune up. As my bike is my commuter, I would like to have shims on hand in case I need to adjust the valves. I'm not a mechanic, but understand mechanical systems. I'll be doing this at a mechanic-friend's house, so I'll have the right tools available (feeler gauges, etc.). Which measurement in the manual do I look at for deciding which size shim kit to order? Valve head diameter, valve bucket bore diameter, valve bucket diameter? Thanks!

valve clearance is the specification. section/page 3.19 of the manual
so you'd need to know what thickness shims are in the bike already on each valve, and buy spare shims on both sides of that value.
this page might be of assistance

................... which size shim kit to order?...............

Not sure that there is a 'shim kit' available and if there were, at £5 (UK) a shim, it would be shed loads of money. You need to check the existing clearances first, then remove each shim that needs changing - measure it and replace with one of the correct thickness. Can't see how you could know what sizes to get before hand so trying to do this job in a weekend say, would be nye impossible imo.

In about 2k miles I will need to do a clearance check/adjust and I'm not anticipating this being a quick job - even when I know what sizes I need, by past experience, my local dealer will need to order the shims in.

They are a more-or-less commonplace 25 mm shim, you will probably need thicknesses between 2 and 3 mm once you measure your clearances. Such shims are used on lots of bikes, and you may also be able to get them cheaper (& quicker??) from an independent shim manufacturer - Fr'zample, Precision Shims, in Oz.

Try Googling something like "valve adjustment shim suppliers" or similar....

just re-reading your question redtrek, did you mean what is the diameter of the shim seat on top of the bucket?