bullwinkle

Standard Bore
Hello. Just bought my 1st Triumph- R3T 2008. My soft ties won't fit around the triple tree without scuffing the fork chrome covers. Suggestions please. Love the bike, so much like the Valks that I owned previously with much more power. :)

Hello. Just bought my 1st Triumph- R3T 2008. My soft ties won't fit around the triple tree without scuffing the fork chrome covers. Suggestions please. Love the bike, so much like the Valks that I owned previously with much more power. :)

I haul bikes all the time. I hauled my R3 Classic 650 miles one way to Marne, Iowa this winter to get rebuilt, broght the trailer back home and loaded 3 vintage bikes, a Norton, a 60's Triumph and a 60's Matchless and too all 3 back out to Marne...650 miles again and then brought my R3 back home. My R3 travelled 1300 miles on the trailer so I'd say I have plenty of experience, besides, I trailer my sidecar outfit all the time....

Get yourself a Canyon Dancer bar harness and tie the front down with that. It fits on the handlebars like a set of Chinese handcuffs. Pull the front down but leave just a slight bit of travel in the front forks. If you don't, you'll pop the fork seals.

I use Canyon Dancers all the time and on the rear, I use the straps plus sections of heater hose so as not to mar the paint or the chromework.

I always use ratchet straps, not the cam lock types and I always zip tie the loose ends rather that tying them.

I've always tied onto the handle bars and not the triple tree. That will give move options and is no less rigid.

Now if you're going to try to tie into the top of ape hangers, don't follow this advice.

Last edited:
Welcome aboard Bullwinkle.
I've never had a valk, but I'd like to ride one.
They do look good, but I think you'll be happy with your new sled.
Your dealer makes ALL the difference, as you'll notice how far Flip had to go to get one he trusted.
Again, welcome.

Trailer tie down for the R3T