Valve Cover Gasket Repair? Any good pictures step by step?

quadzilla200

.020 Over
Ride
Nothing Currently
I know it is a common problem. I'm still learning about my bike, and I'd like to repair it myself. I'm a little overwhelmed when I lifted the tank and bear claw off. Lots of stuff going in there. Could someone point me in the direction of a YouTube video or post where it shows pictures step by step? Coming up empty on my searches so far.

I am not aware of any videos that cover the gasket. It’s pretty straight forward. Make sure everything is clean and oil free, apply a small bit of sealant at the ends inline with the cams (the four round parts of the gasket) . Make sure it’s evenly seated around the head (where you can’t see, you can feel if it’s on right or not) and torque per the manual.

@sonny has written in detail, I believe, about his steps to ensure you don't get a leak. Search that post out. Gradual torquing of the bolts is important.

It's not difficult. While you're there check your valve clearances.

I highly recommend this video. It is a guy doing his Ramair install, but so many of the removal instructions follow the valve gasket process.
This might all be super simple to anyone that is mechanically inclined, but I'm not. It appears many opt to do the Ramair or K&N install after the pain it is to get the plenum out especially with large hands. His video highlights that well
Two tools I would add to aide the user is a much larger 3mm allen wrench which I happened to have for cycling. It will make your life much easier getting those interior clamps off. There is no way my fat fingers would have had room to get those off with regular size. I also recommend having one of these magnetic things next to your wrench to catch the screws before they fall.

Attachments

• IMG_20201024_144438.jpg
    IMG_20201024_144438.jpg
    379 KB · Views: 8