Tuneboy tune for carpenter

Discussion in 'Trading Tunes' started by cbeaman22, Apr 21, 2018.

  1. cbeaman22

    cbeaman22 HellsVirus

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Syracuse, New York
    Ride:
    2015 Triumph Rocket 3 Roadster
    Hey guys, I am looking for a tuneboy tune for my 15 roadster with a carpenter exhaust, triple K&N under the claw and secondaries removed. The roadster tune that came with it is giving me quite the popping.
     
  2. Claviger

    Claviger Aspiring Student

    Messages:
    6,398
    Featured Threads:
    141
    Media:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9,708
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Olympia Washington
    Ride:
    '14 R3R, '02 Daytona 955i
    Tuneboy or tuneecu?

    No one will have the ‘15 file for Tuneboy except carpenter. You could try the Jardine file as it’ll be much closer than the stock tune, but it still won’t be right.

    To expand, once a Tuneboy file is loaded into the ECU it can’t be extracted, so you need to go straight to the source for it. In my dealing with Carpenter their base Tuneboy file was 20355 tables, or very close to them, that they used PC-V to adjust.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2018
    Joesmoe likes this.
  3. cbeaman22

    cbeaman22 HellsVirus

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Syracuse, New York
    Ride:
    2015 Triumph Rocket 3 Roadster
    Sounds like I can't switch to tuneECU once I have it tuned by tuneboy. Carpenter racing is the ones who suggested tuneboy over tuneECU which is why I went the tuneboy route
     
  4. Claviger

    Claviger Aspiring Student

    Messages:
    6,398
    Featured Threads:
    141
    Media:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9,708
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Olympia Washington
    Ride:
    '14 R3R, '02 Daytona 955i
    You can switch back and forth freely if you've got all the Tuneboy software on your PC. To get after your tuning needs, I don't ever recall anyone posting a full TuneECU tune with Carpenter pipes equipped unfortunately so it won't fix the problem.

    Did you send your ECU off to Carpenter to get flashed when you bought the pipes?
     
  5. cbeaman22

    cbeaman22 HellsVirus

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Syracuse, New York
    Ride:
    2015 Triumph Rocket 3 Roadster
    No I did not. I did email tuneboy and talk to carpenter to provide a tune for me for my application but have yet received anything from either of them.
     
  6. Claviger

    Claviger Aspiring Student

    Messages:
    6,398
    Featured Threads:
    141
    Media:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9,708
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Olympia Washington
    Ride:
    '14 R3R, '02 Daytona 955i
    So have you already bought a Tuneboy license? If not I strongly caution against it, have a read through some of the more recent Tuneboy postings, a lot of strife recently.

    Anyway, whichever way you go, get something in the ECU soon, you’re running extremely lean above 4500 RPM on a stock tune with those pipes.
     
  7. scot in exile

    scot in exile Living Legend

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    8,541
    Featured Threads:
    198
    Likes Received:
    11,209
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Fort walton Beach FL, Glenrothes Fife
    Ride:
    2005std, 2011 Carp Roadster, 2001 Tri Adventurer,
    As said get this corrected pretty soon if not sooner, Tuneboy will not help you unless you have pain them for the key Carpenter has what I would call a master key which they probably pay mega bucks for that is why they charge $200 for a re-flash still cheaper than a new engine.
     
  8. Steel

    Steel Resident Coonass

    Messages:
    6,654
    Featured Threads:
    25
    Media:
    9
    Likes Received:
    18,060
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Cut Off, LA
    Ride:
    2012 Roadster & 2006 Classic
    Actually they have to contact TuneBoy and get each key individually. The key cost them $200, and they load the tune for no profit other than what they make on the pipe.
     
  9. scot in exile

    scot in exile Living Legend

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    8,541
    Featured Threads:
    198
    Likes Received:
    11,209
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Fort walton Beach FL, Glenrothes Fife
    Ride:
    2005std, 2011 Carp Roadster, 2001 Tri Adventurer,
    Interesting so if your bike has been re flashed by them before they will have the key as each key is only for that bikes cpu and no one else, so I wonder how much they would charge for an update?
     
  10. Steel

    Steel Resident Coonass

    Messages:
    6,654
    Featured Threads:
    25
    Media:
    9
    Likes Received:
    18,060
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Cut Off, LA
    Ride:
    2012 Roadster & 2006 Classic
    Yes they have the key for each bike they flash. I have no clue on updates.
    I do know that their flash for a stock motor with their pipe felt much stronger than what a tuner did with a PCV.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice