Bought my first Triumph ever... an '07 Rocket 3 with 100k on it and charging issues!

JLeather

.020 Over
Thread starter
Joined
Mar 6, 2021
Messages
50
Location
Ijamsville, MD USA
Ride
2007 R3 Classic
Put about 500 miles on the R3 this weekend with a temporary battery monitor that shows actual voltage (not just red/yellow/green). Bike puts out a solid 14.4v-14.5v while riding, no issues with restarts all weekend. After messaging with Decosse about my charging issue it seems like maybe my problem is actually a low idle. The bike idles under 1k when warmed up. It does fast-idle when cold so I assume the stepper is working. Where should I start troubleshooting a low idle? I don't have the equipment for doing a tune yet, and I don't know if the bike is running a stock tune or not. There's plenty of free play in the throttle cables. Is this as simple as turning up the base idle screw a little?
 

TURBO200R4

stand up straight and grab the world by the a$$
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
6,264
Location
TUCSON AZ
Ride
07 rocket III classic
Put about 500 miles on the R3 this weekend with a temporary battery monitor that shows actual voltage (not just red/yellow/green). Bike puts out a solid 14.4v-14.5v while riding, no issues with restarts all weekend. After messaging with Decosse about my charging issue it seems like maybe my problem is actually a low idle. The bike idles under 1k when warmed up. It does fast-idle when cold so I assume the stepper is working. Where should I start troubleshooting a low idle? I don't have the equipment for doing a tune yet, and I don't know if the bike is running a stock tune or not. There's plenty of free play in the throttle cables. Is this as simple as turning up the base idle screw a little?

Some like there idle at 950 i have mine at 850 ithink stock is around 750
That screw is for the throttle stop and should not b messed with.
With the tuneecu u can change the idle to what u prefer.
What is the idle after it is warmed up?
 

Jeff06098

.040 Over
Joined
Mar 6, 2021
Messages
57
Location
Winsted, CT
Ride
2005 Triumph Rocket
Some like there idle at 950 i have mine at 850 ithink stock is around 750
That screw is for the throttle stop and should not b messed with.
With the tuneecu u can change the idle to what u prefer.
What is the idle after it is warmed up?
I think stock is 850. My original triumph map was 850 and I’ve got another factory map installed for my modifications and it was also 850. I put it up to 890 and actually didn’t like it. Reloaded at 850. Sounds nice. Guess it all depends what you’re looking for. Tune ECU is great because you can change it all you want until you find what you like.
 

JLeather

.020 Over
Thread starter
Joined
Mar 6, 2021
Messages
50
Location
Ijamsville, MD USA
Ride
2007 R3 Classic
I don't think this bike likes me very much... Granted we found about 10 miles of accidental gravel roads this weekend, but I came home today to find this:

IMG_20210427_173931321.jpg


IMG_20210427_173945658_HDR.jpg


It would appear that I managed to blow out both fork seals this weekend. Sigh. Time to order a few more parts...
 

TURBO200R4

stand up straight and grab the world by the a$$
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
6,264
Location
TUCSON AZ
Ride
07 rocket III classic
the pads seem to be thin when new
your bike may or may not have the progressive springs.
i installed the new springs without the special tools but i did use a vice at my shop.
if u just change the seals can be done but u need an impac to remove and replace lower fork bolts.
i think i have new pad thickness i will check tomorrow
 

JLeather

.020 Over
Thread starter
Joined
Mar 6, 2021
Messages
50
Location
Ijamsville, MD USA
Ride
2007 R3 Classic
Following some tips from the forum and the positive Amazon reviews I gave the "Seal Mate" a shot and it seems to have fixed my seal leaks. Question now is can I readjust the fork oil levels without disassembling the forks? The manual gives the oil level with the forks fully compressed. Is it possible to strap the bike down so the forks are compressed and pull the upper caps and adjust the oil level? The manual says that the upper caps are not under spring pressure.
 
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of R3Owners. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker for R3Owners.Net.

I've Disabled AdBlock