Stormrider

.040 Over
Has anyone had a problem with the transmission slipping into neutral from 1st gear? I'm brand new to this bike but it seems I will engage 1st gear... come to a stop or lay off the throttle and it slips back into neutral. Afterwards of putting it back into 1st gear, it seems to stay. I would like to know if anyone else has heard of this problem as it is making me a bit intimidated while I try to slip into traffic.

First, it will get better with age. Second, it will never be perfect, most of us have a little 'dance' at a red light, roll back and forth to find neutral. And I had a lot of trouble until I realized that the clutch wasn't adjusted quite right. Good Luck!

First, it will get better with age. Second, it will never be perfect, most of us have a little 'dance' at a red light, roll back and forth to find neutral. And I had a lot of trouble until I realized that the clutch wasn't adjusted quite right. Good Luck!

Have the same problem, but it never does it during hard acceleration out of first gear (thank God!)... Just happens during mild start outs such as heavy traffic stop and go... My dealer says it will get better and the tranny won't really reach consistant behavior until 2500mi....

Mike...

It doesn't slip out of first into neutral....it was never in first to start with.
On occassion, you will shift it down to first, the neutral light will be out, but it's still in neutral. You will start up and realize it....sometimes you have to hit it down into first...makes a big clunk....which is familiar to those who have had many years on h-d's..... but a question...why would you want to go down to neutral at a light or intersection anyway?

Tatonka said:
It doesn't slip out of first into neutral....it was never in first to start with.