Triumph chrome

Discussion in 'BearClaw Corner' started by Big Si, Apr 26, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Big Si

    Big Si .040 Over

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    68
    Featured Threads:
    4
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worcs. U.K.
    Ride:
    Rocket 3 Classic 2006
    Flyscreen chrome 1.jpg Flyscreen chrome 2.jpg

    After trying to find a used one with no success I bit the bullet and bought a new sports/fly screen. It has been on the bike for a month and in that time the bike has only done 20-30 miles due to weather and work. So, Good Friday, the Easter bank holiday weekend comes along, with great weather. I wheel my awesome steed out from the garage and notice the chrome on the right hand screen bracket is literally peeling off!! FFS!!!:mad::mad:

    Not a happy bunny (as Blade Triumph's parts manager will testify)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 26, 2019
    bigprop likes this.
  2. Thedogsbollocks

    Thedogsbollocks Turbocharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    707
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Florida via Liverpool.
    Ride:
    Rocket Roadster 2018
    Had mine some time and all ok looks like you got a faulty one...bad luck or I think we’d have heard more about it.
    FUI...I just picked up a new fixing kit for $30...search seems like these are being cleared out at huge discounts.
     
    Nat67 and bigprop like this.
  3. barbagris

    barbagris Mad Scientist

    Messages:
    11,791
    Featured Threads:
    57
    Media:
    85
    Likes Received:
    12,021
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    On the verge of insanity
    Ride:
    2009 R3-Standard - 1979 Guzzi V1000G5
    Ditto - Mine has been on since 2010 and is fine.
     
    Nat67 likes this.
  4. Big Si

    Big Si .040 Over

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    68
    Featured Threads:
    4
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worcs. U.K.
    Ride:
    Rocket 3 Classic 2006
    Blade Triumph at Cheltenham have had a new bracket delivered, so I'll shoot over next week and they will swap it over. I have just fitted a pair of Dave Platt "shotgun" exhausts so I might get them to do a tune at the same time.
     
    phar2slo and Thedogsbollocks like this.
  5. Big Si

    Big Si .040 Over

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    68
    Featured Threads:
    4
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worcs. U.K.
    Ride:
    Rocket 3 Classic 2006
    Any advice on the tune I should ask for, it's basically a 3-1-2 straight thru', no cat??
     
    Grumpy Ole Codger likes this.
  6. Grumpy Ole Codger

    Grumpy Ole Codger Slave to the Beast

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    3,154
    Featured Threads:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6,211
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Bognor Regis, West Sussex
    Ride:
    2007 Rocket 111 Standard..ish
    I don't imagine that Triumph dealers will have any tunes other than the stock and for the Tors pipes. Have a nose around the resources section at the top of the page. Will need a proper dyno tune to sort those pipes out.
     
    Nat67 and Ishrub like this.
  7. Big Si

    Big Si .040 Over

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    68
    Featured Threads:
    4
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worcs. U.K.
    Ride:
    Rocket 3 Classic 2006
    Is there a numpty version (?), because to be honest, lot of this tech stuff, I don't understand.:(
     
    Grumpy Ole Codger likes this.
  8. Grumpy Ole Codger

    Grumpy Ole Codger Slave to the Beast

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    3,154
    Featured Threads:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6,211
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Bognor Regis, West Sussex
    Ride:
    2007 Rocket 111 Standard..ish
    Si, do you have Tune Ecu and the lonelec cable to access the ECU? You need to find out what tune you already have in there and replace it with something a little 'better' or more suited to your set up. Most of the base tunes needed are in the resource section here. Once the base tune is loaded, you can get it fine tuned on the dyno. Need to find a Dyno tuner who is capable of adjusting the maps. @Nat67 knows of a place near Bristol who can help..
     
  9. Nat67

    Nat67 Rockgoblin

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    4,082
    Featured Threads:
    17
    Likes Received:
    7,477
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Dartmoor England
    Ride:
    Rocket 3 2010 roadster
    JHS dyno , keynsham . Located between Bristol and Bath . I'm not sure if he will tune via tune ecu ? I am up there Tues morning for a 're map , will ask if he does it !
     
    Steel and Grumpy Ole Codger like this.
  10. Big Si

    Big Si .040 Over

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    68
    Featured Threads:
    4
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worcs. U.K.
    Ride:
    Rocket 3 Classic 2006
    Nat and Grumpy OC, thanks for your help, as I said earlier, I have no idea what I'm doing here regarding tuning:thumbsup: I'm about an hour +15 from Keynsham
     
    Nat67 likes this.
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice