Ram Air Filter installed - now engine light on

Discussion in 'General Tech Talk' started by HIM57, May 25, 2019.

  1. HIM57

    HIM57 .040 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    60
    Featured Threads:
    1
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Ride:
    2008 Triumph Rocket 3 Classic
    Hi,

    Just installed the Ram Air Filter. Did the 24 minute recomended tune with zero throttle. Now I have a check egine light.

    Any input appreciated.
     
  2. scot in exile

    scot in exile Living Legend

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    8,469
    Featured Threads:
    198
    Likes Received:
    10,998
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Fort walton Beach FL, Glenrothes Fife
    Ride:
    2005std, 2011 Carp Roadster, 2001 Tri Adventurer,
    did you reconnect all that was disconnected?? take the bike for a run after about 4/5 miles it should go off.
     
  3. motolink

    motolink Nitrous

    Country:
    Australia
    Messages:
    1,341
    Featured Threads:
    61
    Likes Received:
    809
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Brisbane South, Australia
    Ride:
    2011 Roadster and 2001 Bonneville
    I have not experienced that the few time I have had my Ram Air off and on, check the air flow unit wire is connected correctly.
     
    HIM57 likes this.
  4. Joesmoe

    Joesmoe IMOKUR2 Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    4,131
    Featured Threads:
    44
    Media:
    7
    Likes Received:
    5,428
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    Ride:
    Triumph: 2014 Rocket III Touring
    Connect TuneECU and read the code ?
     
    HIM57 likes this.
  5. HIM57

    HIM57 .040 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    60
    Featured Threads:
    1
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Ride:
    2008 Triumph Rocket 3 Classic
    Getting a ECU cable this week.

    Thanks
     
  6. HIM57

    HIM57 .040 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    60
    Featured Threads:
    1
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Ride:
    2008 Triumph Rocket 3 Classic
    Yes- that's my next plan- thanks
     
  7. Grumpy Ole Codger

    Grumpy Ole Codger Slave to the Beast

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    3,151
    Featured Threads:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6,189
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Bognor Regis, West Sussex
    Ride:
    2007 Rocket 111 Standard..ish
    Had the same thing when I swapped out OEM for the ramair. Connected TuneEcu and read code. Was saying that air temp thingy was not connected. Cleared the code and ran bike for 12mins - the light has never been back on. Seems to need a re-boot of sorts after the air temp thingy is reconnected.
     
    sonny, Gregger and Joesmoe like this.
  8. HIM57

    HIM57 .040 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    60
    Featured Threads:
    1
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Ride:
    2008 Triumph Rocket 3 Classic
    You got it man! 5 mile ride and no engine light- Cheers
     
  9. Grumpy Ole Codger

    Grumpy Ole Codger Slave to the Beast

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    3,151
    Featured Threads:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6,189
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Bognor Regis, West Sussex
    Ride:
    2007 Rocket 111 Standard..ish
    Another happy ending!!:thumbsup::thumbsup:
     
    Joesmoe likes this.
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice