Butterflies on the R3

Discussion in 'Common Issues' started by devildog48, Jun 11, 2019 at 11:51 AM.

  1. devildog48

    devildog48 .020 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Athens,GA
    Ride:
    2005 R3
    So I decided to take some time to clean fuel injectors on my R3. Once torn apart I decided to clean the butterflies (the set closest to me), Pardon my lack of knowledge. I noticed that I can turn them by hand and when I pulled my hand away they stayed in position (did not return to a set point). The were rather easy to turn. Are they supposed to do that (I Assume NO)? And if not what do I need to buy to fix it?
     
  2. devildog48

    devildog48 .020 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Athens,GA
    Ride:
    2005 R3
    Also to add that I have to hold the throttle until it warms up before it will idle. No idle on cold start
     
  3. Jvheli

    Jvheli Turbocharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    585
    Featured Threads:
    11
    Likes Received:
    910
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Ride:
    2016 Rocket Roadster
    Yes, they easily move by hand, but I wouldn’t do so unnecessary.

    If you are having idle issues, balance the throttle bodies and do an ISCV reset. I’d think that would make her idle right again.
     
    sleeves likes this.
  4. joesoap

    joesoap Northern Scum

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    385
    Featured Threads:
    6
    Likes Received:
    580
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    North West England by the sea
    They operate by a servo motor..when ignition is turned on they re-set to there normal set position before start up.
     
    sleeves likes this.
  5. devildog48

    devildog48 .020 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Athens,GA
    Ride:
    2005 R3
    Ok I was unsure as far as the movement went. I will have to take it to someone to do it as I have no computer equipment for the bike yet. Unless there is another way to do it. Thank you both for the reply!
     
  6. Bob R

    Bob R Top Fuel

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    1,637
    Featured Threads:
    29
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2,305
    Trophy Points:
    323
    Location:
    Medical Lake, WA
    Ride:
    2013 R3T
    It doesn't take a lot. I use a laptop running Win 7 and a cable I purchased off of ebay. Once you load TuneEcu onto the laptop you are good to go. There is also an Android app for it but I am not sure how that works.

    bob
     
  7. canecorso

    canecorso The custom seat man

    Country:
    Canada
    Messages:
    675
    Featured Threads:
    10
    Likes Received:
    415
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ride:
    2005 Triumph Rocket 3 Classic
    Paul took my butterflies out saying you can more response, I felt the difference with them out so I left it.
    I guess the only problem your have with them out if your working on your bike and filters are off you can drop something down, so you just need to remember to stuff them so nothing drops in while working on bike.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice