John Ward

.060 Over
Ride
Rocket 3 Classic 2008
IMG_0935.jpg

Hi guys n gals... I'm new to rocket ownership having ridden Goldwing's before.. my question is about the small extra lights each side of the headlights. I had them on yesterday for the first time, and when I got back from my ride I thought id adjust them. I got hold of one and jesus it was red hot! you could almost fry an egg on both of them! Should they get this hot? This bike is new to me but I wouldn't expect 3rd degree burns from anything but my engine n exhaust. They were fitted when I got the bike and from what I can tell were added when it was new in 2008. If its normal then that's ok... was worried it was drawing too much current and would fry my wires.

WELCOME!
If you ever ride at night, I suggest you dump those OEM lights and install some "good" LEDs.

Cheers guys.. I didn't know if there was an LED bulb equivalent I could replace them with to cut down on the heat issue? As for the headlights, I've already done a lot of forum reading on replacing these so that will be my next job.

the beauty of LED spots is that way past the light they still pick up reflective items eg animal eyes

Cheers guys.. I didn't know if there was an LED bulb equivalent I could replace them with to cut down on the heat issue?
Depends if you want to use the lights to see with.

If so then FORGET H3-LED-"bulbs". To get anywhere near the light the Halogen H3 offers you will need close to 1300 effective lumens. This will ime require in the region of about 20W. And believe me the lamps will still get warm. I have converted Triumph lamps to LED - but the lenses are cheap and getting a proper focus on the LED is time consuming. Remember the Triumph lamps are FOG lamps - meant to give a wide & not far reaching beam.

Beam patterns - Long Range lights are useful where you have wide open roads. Twisty leafy lanes not so much.

Depends if you want to use the lights to see with.