and not confusing, to many that have done this mod

Since ECU is involved in tricking a sensor
as to which gear it's in .

To whom it may apply ,
All you electronic greek's out there .
That know the answer !
Not the one's , giving their opinions , and or
educated guesses .

The ECU is very expensive to replace ...
since it wired to ground now ( as in below link )
http://content.glidesociety.com/image.aspx?id=f8ccd98e-891e-40c7-bc22-abd7cfa78f41

What would happen if the resistor burnt up
and failed ? :confused:

R
eason Asking !
The OEM connector wire that's cut
is @ the rear of engine and gets quite a bit
of heat back there .
Temp Range: -67°F to 158°F
680 ohm 1/2W 5% Carbon Film Resistor pk/5 - RadioShack.com

I'm hoping it goes back to original Triumph
advance first 3 gears

PS: If replies turn out good & not confusing
Maybe could be moved to RESISTOR MOD sticky

Wayne

Last edited:
Ratboy ,

Thanks , but I've read all that .
I am a mechanic by trade ( retired ) old fart
but I'm Not up on all the electronic issues

The answer I'm looking for was not discussed ,
Resistor failure & what would happen

Regards
Wayne

Wayne - if the resistor fails, since it is wired in series, it would be like having an open connection. So I figure the fault light would go on and maybe the bike would running "limp home" mode?

Pig9r ,
Thanks , never thought of that one .
Makes sense , I worried it ( ECU) would short out .
Being open no connection .
4 spare resistors:)

Wayne

I know many many people who run the same resistor mod on their suzukis. I even ran one for a while on my Hayabusa (I didn't like it). I've never heard of one failing. Ever. Even if it does, I doubt it would cook the ECU.

I haven't done the resistor mod but it is probably set up like everything else...