canecorso

The custom seat man
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
1,216
Location
Toronto, Canada
Ride
2005 Triumph Rocket 3 Classic
Is there a relay for the for the head lights? Kind of wired they won't come on I even put new bulbs in just in case.
And I find it weird that I just pull the fuse for the high beams and bike won't start at all.
How can pulling a fuse for high beams have anything to do with starting? I THINK SOME WIRES ARE CROSSED, the last guy to work on my seem to fix it was starting no problem now I got same clicking problem and now my head lights don't work and high beams are on. I just might need to drive it to one of you guys to get it finally fixed.
 

TURBO200R4

stand up straight and grab the world by the a$$
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
8,905
Location
TUCSON AZ
Ride
07 rocket III classic
Allow me to translate the dealers words
We do not want to work on your bike because we don't have clue as to how we can fix it but if you are dumb enough to let us put a complete wiring harness on it for a couple thousand dollars that might solve your problems.
 

TURBO200R4

stand up straight and grab the world by the a$$
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
8,905
Location
TUCSON AZ
Ride
07 rocket III classic
Ok guys i have a slight advantage on you i was on the phone And heard the clacking
i still wanted to get all the opinions i could (that is what good mechanics do)
So here is what i think and any other opinions are welcome
The clacking sound was the srarter solenoid engaging but the motor would not turn over or start. After numerous trys the solenoid washer would finally make the contacts and the motor would start.
Now what this tells me is that all of the safetys are met (clutch switch the neutral switch) and the ecu is grounding the relay and all of the wiring is good to the starter solenoid.
If anyone disagrees with this please post your opinion. Thank you.
 

TURBO200R4

stand up straight and grab the world by the a$$
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
8,905
Location
TUCSON AZ
Ride
07 rocket III classic
For the head light problem
On my bike i had a harly daymaker and the triumph pos. I left the ign on so on the triumph head light it burned the ground terminal at the headlight connector on the daymaker was still good.
So my conclusion is that the triumph headlights while setting still will generate enough heat to melt the connector/terminals
So my approach to this problem would be to remove a headlight and check for power at headlight both hi and low beams by using th high/low switch.
Sound like a plan?
 

canecorso

The custom seat man
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
1,216
Location
Toronto, Canada
Ride
2005 Triumph Rocket 3 Classic
Will try that when I get home from trip in a week.
And I'll also put the car starter back in since it's been tested and new contacts are in .
Maybe leaving the red kill switch on for two days melted some wires would make sense.
Because did get it working and starting good for a week, I was happy:)
 

Gerald

Turbocharged
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
678
Location
Lou. Ky
Ride
05 Rocket III
Is there a relay for the for the head lights? Kind of wired they won't come on I even put new bulbs in just in case.
And I find it weird that I just pull the fuse for the high beams and bike won't start at all.
How can pulling a fuse for high beams have anything to do with starting? I THINK SOME WIRES ARE CROSSED, the last guy to work on my seem to fix it was starting no problem now I got same clicking problem and now my head lights don't work and high beams are on. I just might need to drive it to one of you guys to get it finally fixed.
I have an 05 and if pull fuse for lights, it won't crank, that's how they're made, also when you're using Tuneecu they say to pull fuse when using or loading a tune. This would be after starting. I pulled the fuse once at the end of the day, while I was making changes to bike. Next morning I tried to start, nothing happened, chased my tail for several hours, even pulled key switch thinking the white wire had melted the solder and came loose. Wasn't the problem, so sat and thought a bit and remembered pulling two fuses. Reinstalled the fuses and started right away, checked again and wouldn't crank without light fuse installed. Until then I didn't know, but don't think I'll ever forget.
 

r3badboy

Supercharged
Joined
Mar 28, 2015
Messages
280
Location
New Zealand
Ride
06 Rocket 3 & all years parts built R3
Oh I do have power going to the socket for light bulb in head lights , I did check that before putting new bulbs in .
One of my Rockets had the dreaded click for a while...I was a bit lazy, but finally pulled the starter button out of the switch block & sanded both surfaces...no problems now 👍
 
Back
Top