Putting front cover back on and adjusting clutch

Torpedo

.040 Over
Hey guys. I'm getting ready to put the front cover on after upgrading the clutch springs. I have a couple questions.

1. I can set the preload at 1/4 turn or 1/2 to 3/4. Depending on lifter rod placement. Does it matter which? I don't want to preload the spring too much.
2. Should I hook the clutch cable to the arm/cover before installing it on the block?
3. Once in place, what's the best way to adjust the clutch cable (in a step by step fashion). I loosened the nuts that hold the clutch cable to the bracket that mounts on the front cover.
4. Lifter rod goes behind mushroom head on clutch rod? (pulls center clutch rod fwd with actuation) I'm 99% that's the case.

It's my first time doing it and I don't want to muck it up. Please be patient. I've got the rest down.

Number 1: The preload is determined by the spring location and should only be one position available. This should be enough to pull the lifter rod away from the lifter piece and push the cable back to the lever. It takes over from the actual clutch springs in the open position, and gives that last push to the lever.

Number 2: No, I don't think so.

Number 3: To adjust clutch line the components up with location marks and allow 2mm at the lever. Make sure you have the lever adjustment at Number 1 out of the 4 available. When replacing the front cover, rotate the lifter shaft so that it will accept the lifter piece as you place it on the engine. When it is on you should be able to feel the clearance (between the shaft and piece) in the arm that the cable goes on.

Number 4: Yes, once in position you just rotate it back to the activation position.

Torpedo Hey guys. I'm getting ready to put the front cover on after upgrading the clutch springs. I have a couple questions.

1. I can set the preload at 1/4 turn or 1/2 to 3/4. Depending on lifter rod placement. Does it matter which? I don't want to preload the spring too much.