P0638 - Error Code | Rocket 3 Roadster 2018

buddazero

.060 Over
Ride
Triumph Rocket 3 Roadster 2018
Hey,

So, I'm not an expert but I do have Tune ECU to check in on stuff. My Rocket Setup is:

The moment it happened, I started the bike and noticed that the number on the gas meter (the one that tries to guess how many miles you have left) was a lot higher since I've last turned it on. After riding less than a mile the Engine Light came on. Few hours later, I used Tune ECU on my phone and saw the error code P0638.

What I did next was deleted the error code, and Ran a 2nd Throttle Test, I heard the engine do it's thing, and it said Test Complete, and it didn't display anything. I then turned on the bike, and the Engine light didn't come on. Does that mean the test did its thing and it's basically saying "everything is working fine?"

It just so happens I'm going in Friday to service my bike. If it does happen again, hopefully they can fix it, I'll still tell them what happened even if the engine light doesn't come on.

How can I on my own resolve the issue, can I access the 2nd Throttle underneath the Bear Claw? The Ram Air Kit is most likely above it as well, are there instructions to take it off?

Thank you for reading,

Best,

Budda

As i recalect a friends bike had that code and i cleared it and it never came back. Must hav have been a sticky 2nd tps.

As i recalect a friends bike had that code and i cleared it and it never came back. Must hav have been a sticky 2nd tps.

What do you mean by sticky?

Also, I rode the bike all day today...and the engine light never came back on. Maybe it was just closed incident that happened for like a second?

Seems to me that this error can come from when resistance to the secondaries moving occurs, detected possibly via increased current draw by the stepper motor which makes ECU throw the code.
Can you pop off the air filter and see if the throttle butterflies move smoothly and freely?