Project Build Using a Rocket Engine

scootz

.020 Over
Afternoon!

I'm a newbie and desperately in need of some input from you old-timers regarding my project.

http://www.r3owners.net/introduce-yourself/15046-new-member-project-builder.html#post187027

The finished weight of my trike should be around the same as the Rocket bike (the carbon tub weighs the square-root of bugger all :)).

I plan to run the engine on an aftermarket ECU such as a DTA, MBE or Omex, and I have absolutely no packaging restriction for when it comes to intake or exhaust! :)

So I guess my first Q is... has anyone developed a properly tuned equal-length 3-into-1 header?

Cheers

Scotty

Some other things that I've been thinking...

I'm not sure what model of engine I have... all I know is it's a 2006. Is there a possibility this could be one of the Touring engines at this age? If so, was the 'de-tune' purely achieved via the electronics, or was there physical differences between the engines?

Are there are any physical differences between the Touring swing-arm and the other models? I only ask as I want to run as wide a rear tyre as I possibly can.

Speaking of wide tyres... has anyone experimented with going above the 240 width? If so, could you tell me please what you tried and how you got on? On a similar note, is there any manufacturer of wider wheels for the Rocket? I see BST do a 9.5" carbon wheel, but it costs more than my engine did! :eek:

Thanks in advance! :)

mine hasn't been on a dyno with this exhaust,
but it is equal length and sounds ok.
of course, I wasn't looking for ultimate HP,
just optimal sound, and the 2.5" open drags
sure are that...

of course, if I wanted better performance,
(more torque) I'd add some big city baffles.

Thanks for that.

It's difficult to see in the photo, but are there any link pipes between your primaries or is each exhaust 'straight through'?