Audiovox Cruise Control Questions

I've been running the CSS100 for 3 years now - works great! A special thanks to Honker for his tutorial a few years back, which I mostly followed, except:

My CC cable runs under the tank and drops down directly over the throttle bell crank (not attached to the frame downtubes). I attached the supplied CC cable bracket directly where the 2 throttle cables also attach.

I did not use the ball chain at all - went direct with CC cable to bell crank - no problems.

I do use a vacuum reservoir, plumbed into the #3 throttle body vacuum port, which is capped at the factory for those bikes without the charcoal canister. Do not plumb into the MAP circuit ( #1 and #2 cylinder ports are used for that), as you may end up with driveability issues as I did. I'm sure Honker's suggestion to use a vacuum pump would be the best answer, but I'm good with the homemade cannister.

Stick with the vacuum operated Audiovox, as it will work great. It appears the fully electronic unit is not sorted out yet, as it needs to tap into the VSS (vehicle speed sensor), which seems to bugger things up according to those who have tried it. Hope this helps.

Hey Vinnyboy,

Sounds like you've got it worked all out. How about posting a complete how to?
Complete with pics and part numbers. I know I'm asking for a lot but there had been several posts explaining why the vacuum type system won't work on the R3. I for one would like a more detailed explanation of how you made yours work.

I'll jump in and say that Pigger and Tomo and I have discussed the CSS unit many times, so may times, that I have a CSS unit on the shelf for a sometime (I hope installation).