chris haentjens

.060 Over
Joined
Jan 19, 2020
Messages
155
Location
East haddam ct 06469
Ride
2020 rocket3R
Hello all!


So I'm posting up to see if anyone has any ideas or experience with my problem. I installed aftermarket led turn signals while moving my plate. The turn signals at first switch will run normal for 3 or 4 cycles. Then it will just shut off the rear signal lights and pop up an error.
I'm including some video to show what's going on.
Thanks!!


P.s. in hazard mode they shut off and work randomly.

 

ody2002

.020 Over
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
39
Location
Houston, TX
Ride
Triumph R3 GT & BMW R12S
My guess is that the canbus is shutting off the circuit and resetting after a set time. There’s no definable rhyme or reason known so far, but some aftermarket indicators work just fine, some need resistors to work, and others don’t work at all (or the right resistor hasn’t been used). I suppose if we knew the load of the stock indicators or the load tolerance of the canbus, we could figure it out, but I haven’t come across either of those values.
 
Last edited:

chris haentjens

.060 Over
Thread starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2020
Messages
155
Location
East haddam ct 06469
Ride
2020 rocket3R
My guess is that the canbus is shutting off the circuit and resetting after a set time. There’s no definable rhyme or reason known so far, but some aftermarket indicators work just fine, some need resistors to work, and others don’t work at all (or the right resistor hasn’t been used). I suppose if we knew the load of the stock indicators or the load tolerance of the canbus, we could figure it out, but I haven’t come across either of those values.
The factory lights contain a circuit so I can't measure resistance.... 20210215_110833.jpg
 

Stillserving

Nitrous
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
1,167
Location
Southern MD
Ride
86' Magna, 2017 R3R
I would look at the lights/LEDs. In general w/ LED bulbs/lights, there are "CANBUS" and "non CANBUS" compatible varieties out there. See if the lights mention anything like this in the description or try and check w/ the manufacturer.
 

chris haentjens

.060 Over
Thread starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2020
Messages
155
Location
East haddam ct 06469
Ride
2020 rocket3R
I got it to work with the factory circuit inline with one. I think I damaged the other one pulling it apart. I would prefer to not buy another light assy just to tear apart. I'm going to try other lights first.
 

chris haentjens

.060 Over
Thread starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2020
Messages
155
Location
East haddam ct 06469
Ride
2020 rocket3R
An update for all wondering,

I received a new set of turn signals without sequential blinking and all is good!! So the whole issue was the circuitry in the aftermarket signals.
 

ody2002

.020 Over
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
39
Location
Houston, TX
Ride
Triumph R3 GT & BMW R12S
An update for all wondering,

I received a new set of turn signals without sequential blinking and all is good!! So the whole issue was the circuitry in the aftermarket signals.
Thanks for the update.

Similarly, Triumph's own sequential signals don't work on the Rocket. Rizoma makes some sequential signals that will work with one of the supplied resistors.
 

Similar threads

Top