Searching for Idle

RatBoy

Turbocharged
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
757
Location
Durham, NC
I found an old thread about this topic, but short of Tomo very involved fix that I wouldn't begin to attempt myself, I'm hoping that there's been a discovery since then...

Here's my setup:
1) Tuneboy
2) Jardines
3) Triple K&Ns
4) Removed the "tunnel" from the bottom of the seat pan
5) PC3 under right side cover

Here the Symptoms:

1) Warm day in the upper 80's, low 90's
2) Highway riding (Grampa style) for 20-30 minutes at one speed
3) Pull up to a stoplight

Here's the Issue:
The bike is chugging like it's out of breath and can, at one point, cut off.

My thoughts:
Don't be scared...:D
It'll idle okay after I race the throttle a bit, and it doesn't happen all of the time.
The right side cover, where the ECU and PC3 reside, gets REALLY hot.
I never had this problem when I was running without the PC3.
Could the heat from the ECU and the PC3 cause the PC3 to "freak out" (technical term)?
It runs fine at highway speed... no issues at all.

Any thoughts?
 

talltxguy

Supercharged
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
246
Location
Texas
If you would, please answer a few questions:

Using Tuneboy, can you get a TPS reading?

What is your idle set at?

About what is your A/F ratio at idle?

Are your secondaries removed?

What octane gas to you use?

What is the Tuneboy map in the ECU?
 

Toystoretom

Living Legend
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
2,449
Swing by your local Triumph dealer because they have an updated "tune" that is supposed to cure the idle problem... From what I understand if you get your bike in the shop for just about any reason at all they install this "tune" no charge... Kind of a silent recall.
 

RatBoy

Turbocharged
Thread starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
757
Location
Durham, NC
If you would, please answer a few questions:

Using Tuneboy, can you get a TPS reading?

What is your idle set at?

About what is your A/F ratio at idle?

Are your secondaries removed?

What octane gas to you use?

What is the Tuneboy map in the ECU?

Here's a shot of the diagnostics page.. not at idle....


TPS 1.5
Idle at 800
A/F at idle....not at the moment
No secondaries are in place, but Tuneboy has them wide open
93 Octane all of the time unless it's unavailable at the hillbilly gas station

TB Map is 20050 base with Secondaries Fully opened, Igintion remapped, Speedo Corrected, and Idle adjusted to 800.

PC3 Custom mapping on top of that.
 

talltxguy

Supercharged
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
246
Location
Texas
I cannot add anything that Tom or Pig9r didn't already say.

I can say that when I downloaded the latest tune (the Jardine tune), made sure the idle was 820, and confirmed my TPS voltage was + or - .02 of .6, the bike ceased having idle issues. More importantly, it stopped dying when I slowed down in 1st or even when sitting in traffic.

By the way I stopped by my tuner and asked him about the PC III heat issue. He attributes the heat to the Jardines, not the PC III. I've got my PC on the header side of the bike.
 

RatBoy

Turbocharged
Thread starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
757
Location
Durham, NC
Thanks Texas and Pigr,

I moved the PC3 last night into the 'beer bucket' last night.

I can say that when I downloaded the latest tune (the Jardine tune), made sure the idle was 820, and confirmed my TPS voltage was + or - .02 of .6, the bike ceased having idle issues.

Do I need to take it into the dealer to have something looked at, or can the voltage can with the Tune?
 

Similar threads

Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of R3Owners. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker for R3Owners.Net.

I've Disabled AdBlock