Journeyman28778

"And this one is just right" ~ Goldilocks
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
717
Location
Swannanoa, NC 28778 USA
Ride
'11 Rocket III Roadster
I borrowed a PC III when my tuner did his thing after my rebuild and it seemed to give him trouble. He advised next time to get a PC5. The tune is 85-90% spot on, but has a couple of bad spots.

I'm considering getting a PC 5 (if anyone has one for sale, btw, let me know). My question is how much more/less can I do with that PC5 than with Tune ECU alone?

Those of you with a PC5, do you leave it on the bike, or convert the tune over to TuneECU?

Will the PC5 allow tuning to specific gears, or is that just for some bikes, like Harleys?

Autotune- an extra device? Available for the Rocket 3? If I had that would I need to revisit the tuner, as I'm close with the current tune?

I know someone will chime in to say "find a tuner that uses TuneECU," but not in my area, so let's take that out of the equation, plus the guy I've found is good at what he does.

Thanks, in advance...
 

warp9.9

Pocałuj mnie w dupę
Joined
Jun 10, 2007
Messages
11,190
Location
Forest City Illinois
Ride
07 Rocket
Leaving the power commander on the bike doesn't hurt a thing. I'd say the pro's to having one is live tuning. Another pro is most tuners know the Power Commander. You can import your PCV changes over . Anyway I've not had a problem leaving it on.
 

Journeyman28778

"And this one is just right" ~ Goldilocks
Joined
Aug 13, 2017
Messages
717
Location
Swannanoa, NC 28778 USA
Ride
'11 Rocket III Roadster
Please explain "live tuning." Thanks

So, I do plan on buying one. I'll load in the tune the guy did for me (now running a TuneECU conversion from that).

Then... what can I do with the PC5, other than bring it to the tuner, that I couldn't do in TuneECU? Trying to understand...

Also, what's up with AutoTune?
 
Last edited:

CrzystghndKC

Triumph guy happy he didn't work for Harley.
Joined
Feb 18, 2017
Messages
952
Location
Kansas City Mo.
Ride
Triumph: 2005 & 2011 R3 Roadster
Please explain "live tuning." Thanks

So, I do plan on buying one. I'll load in the tune the guy did for me (now running a TuneECU conversion from that).

Then... what can I do with the PC5, other than bring it to the tuner, that I couldn't do in TuneECU? Trying to understand...

Also, what's up with AutoTune?
Just the little I know about the Autotune is you replace the stock narrowband 02 sensor with a wideband sensor that keeps the AF mixture at optimum level. I think if you change elevation alot it works well and is probably necessary. I am sure some one will be along with more details. Also I've had a PC3 on my 05 Rocket for years if you invest in Power commander 5 w/ Autotune I'd just roll with that and forget TuneECU.
 

leatal

Turbocharged
Joined
Mar 11, 2015
Messages
626
Location
Dothan, Alabama
Ride
2014 Roadster
The PC5 is the the way to go if tuning the bike yourself. Here's what I did and am extremely satisfied with the results: First, I am running the Sidewinder exhaust, Carpenter ram intake with three Uni-filters and all stock engine. Got an excellent tune from Neville Lush from a dyno he performed on a bike set up close to mine. Put his tune into my ECU and copied his fuel/air ratio into the PC5. Installed the Autotune and set it up to tune in all gears (for my ram intake). Followed Dynojet's tune procedures for tuning and got pretty good results but found the fueling still off an a few spots (I think due to reversion). Added the Dynojet off/on switch and set it up so I could manually turn the autotune on (when constant throttle or adding throttle) and off (when reducing throttle). Rode the bike while tuning a few dozen times and then sent trim to the map. Updated the map three times and when I got the trim numbers to 2-3% quit sending fuel trims to the map. I do keep the Autotune running after setting the +/- max fuel trims to 5% and monitor everything with the POD-300. This thing is now scary guick from idle to wide open (I think Neville optimized the timing along with the fuel).
 

Joesmoe

IMOKUR2
Staff member
Joined
Aug 3, 2014
Messages
5,124
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
Ride
Triumph: 2014 Rocket III Touring
My limited experience suggests it is not so much "most tuners know PC5" as it is most tunerns don't understand tuning, were sold on a DyanoJet machine, and know their machine can be plugged into a PC5 (the tuner I used wasn't even aware that it would connect to a PC3, but shrugged his shoulders and said, 'I'll try it.'), and then just follow standard procedures with the machine and call it 'good' and most owners are none the wiser.

Tis oft repeated in literature that knowledge is accompanied with sorrow, and is the source of the expression, "You don't want to know."
 

TURBO200R4

stand up straight and grab the world by the a$$
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
5,603
Location
TUCSON AZ
Ride
07 rocket III classic
i have one i used for a couple of months it is like brand new. 130 plus ship. going on vacation real soon.
the pc5 will let u use two maps if u install a switch.
on my 07 i either needed a tuner or the auto tune
 

Kevin frazier

Widowmaker!
Joined
Dec 22, 2018
Messages
4,216
Location
Nashville
Ride
2008 Triumph rocket 3 touring
i have one i used for a couple of months it is like brand new. 130 plus ship. going on vacation real soon.
the pc5 will let u use two maps if u install a switch.
on my 07 i either needed a tuner or the auto tune
If journeyman doesnt grab yours may i
 

Similar threads

Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of R3Owners. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker for R3Owners.Net.

I've Disabled AdBlock