No Power at Hella Plug

maurice

Supercharged
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
242
Location
Tucson,AZ
Ride
2020 R3 GT
Have a dealer appointment. Service guy said that hella plug not designed for compressor, may blow a fuse. Once they get power, will see. Spares in bike.
 

Ygransom

Turbocharged
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
715
Location
Surprise, AZ
Ride
08R3T
Did he mean not rated for a compressor in that Triumph used too small wire gauge or fuse? A Hella plug should take more current than a cigarette lighter plug
 

maurice

Supercharged
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
242
Location
Tucson,AZ
Ride
2020 R3 GT
Did he mean not rated for a compressor in that Triumph used too small wire gauge or fuse? A Hella plug should take more current than a cigarette lighter plug
? Worse that can happen is replace fuse and don't do it. I love tests.😁
 

MrPix

.060 Over
Joined
Mar 5, 2020
Messages
102
Ride
Speedmaster 1200, Rocket 3 R 2500
? Worse that can happen is replace fuse and don't do it. I love tests.😁
BUT, the compressor you have (in the other thread) is 120W === 10A and the accessory fuse is 20A so it should not have blown
 

TURBO200R4

stand up straight and grab the world by the a$$
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
5,167
Location
TUCSON AZ
Ride
07 rocket III classic
? Worse that can happen is replace fuse and don't do it. I love tests.😁
I would say the best thing that could happen is the fuse would burn out!
Other things like melting down the terminals at fuse box/melting wiring from fuse to rececptical or melting wire causing short to ground.
I would find out what amps that circuit is rated at and how many Amps your compressor Uses.
just a dumb ? would the compressor be overloadin the circuit?
 

maurice

Supercharged
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
242
Location
Tucson,AZ
Ride
2020 R3 GT
I would say the best thing that could happen is the fuse would burn out!
Other things like melting down the terminals at fuse box/melting wiring from fuse to rececptical or melting wire causing short to ground.
I would find out what amps that circuit is rated at and how many Amps your compressor Uses.
just a dumb ? would the compressor be overloadin the circuit?
Oh yeah, not liking idea of terminals melting down.
 

Grumpy Ole Codger

Slave to the Beast
Joined
Aug 12, 2017
Messages
3,666
Location
Bognor Regis, West Sussex
Ride
2007 Rocket 111 Standard..ish
BUT, the compressor you have (in the other thread) is 120W === 10A and the accessory fuse is 20A so it should not have blown
As with all motors, they have a high start up currrent and the stated current usage of the item by manufacturers has a tendancy only to relate to be the running current and not the start up current. Worth checking out the true current usage first. Reason why Mcb's and fuses have different ratings - A. B. C. D type (in UK) etc.. Most important thing is to make sure the cable size and it's current carrying capacity is correct for the load to be applied. Best working pracitse is to use the next cable size up to ensure cable is protected by the fuse/device.
 

maurice

Supercharged
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
242
Location
Tucson,AZ
Ride
2020 R3 GT
BUT, the compressor you have (in the other thread) is 120W === 10A and the accessory fuse is 20A so it should not have blown
As with all motors, they have a high start up currrent and the stated current usage of the item by manufacturers has a tendancy only to relate to be the running current and not the start up current. Worth checking out the true current usage first. Reason why Mcb's and fuses have different ratings - A. B. C. D type (in UK) etc.. Most important thing is to make sure the cable size and it's current carrying capacity is correct for the load to be applied. Best working pracitse is to use the next cable size up to ensure cable is protected by the fuse/device.
Since this hella plug is being used only to fill tires when needed, starting motor and then plugging in solves problem doedn't it?
 

MrPix

.060 Over
Joined
Mar 5, 2020
Messages
102
Ride
Speedmaster 1200, Rocket 3 R 2500
Since this hella plug is being used only to fill tires when needed, starting motor and then plugging in solves problem doedn't it?
the motor mentioned by Grumpy is the compressor motor, not the Rocket engine.
 
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks some useful and important features of R3Owners. For the best possible site experience please take a moment to disable your AdBlocker for R3Owners.Net.

I've Disabled AdBlock