Clutch Freeplay, Riding the Clutch, Maintaining & Adjusting the Clutch

buddazero

.060 Over
Ride
Triumph Rocket 3 Roadster 2018
Hello everyone 🖐

Below is my personal experience about motorcycle riding for the past 5 years, and my learning journey with the rocket. My questions are highlighted in bold, and if anyone can answer them, please do so, as I am still learning.

I've been riding my Rocket 3 Roadster 2018 for 4 years now, in New York City. I've gotten 11k miles on it, and in that time I've learned plenty of things. Unfortunately I only learn more about motorcycles when I **** up my bike, since I've only been riding bikes for 5 years, started with a 950 cc Yamaha then 7 months later got my Rocket! When I thought I had learned enough, I recently came across a problem where no power was going to my bike. It wasn't accelerating, felt slow, when I took it to the shop that told me that I burned out the clutch. Didn't know what that meant, but they explained it.

It was my fault, they suspected for the last 1000k miles or so I adjusted the cable wrong (which I did because I didn't know what I was doing), and essentially I didn't have any freeplay whatsoever! So, it was as if I was constantly riding my clutch, especially in New York City. Long story short, they changed the clutch, and my bike feels brand new, especially with the Dave Platt Exhaust, Ram Air Kit. It not only feels brand new, but more powerful. And I don't want to **** it up.

One of the things I've started practicing, is to not ride the clutch in slow speeds. In the Motorcycle Safety Course, I was taught to ride the clutch for slow maneuvering turns, and I translated that into riding the clutch between 0 and 15mph (yes I know, very bad). So, what I've started doing now, is just roll on the throttle slightly and ease off the clutch, and then I'm off it when going 10, even 5 mph. Rear wheel is engaged and I'm not feathering the clutch.