A slice of our obsession.

Azisbest

Turbocharged
Ride
2020 GT
I copied and pasted this post from another site because I thought the author did a great job of capturing a bit of why we ride and wanted to share it. I am not quite the authors age but I hope to feel this way still if I get there. Hope others enjoy this too.

I've loved riding since even before I started riding. Although a motorcycle never actually crossed my mind as a teenager, unlike a lot of you, I started to get the urge in mid 20's. But life got in the way and I didn't start riding until I was 40. But I've now been a rider for 35 years and hope to keep riding until I am on the brown side of the grass. Just riding is a always a thrill. My wife doesn't really understand that I can go out for an hour's ride on the same roads over and and over and never get bored because I am RIDING! I feel the years slip off me as soon as I put the bike in gear and twist the throttle, and the years stay away until I start getting off the bike and my bones, muscles and joints remind me I am 75 and have put this old body through a lot of crap. But today while riding I was reminded of one of the real special things about riding a motorcycle. Moving along at speed on this hot and humid day, I came to a spot where the road dipped down into a sort of valley that is heavily shaded with big trees. As the delicious cold air poured over me, it felt like I had just dived into a cool and refreshing lake. Maybe 7 or 8 seconds later I was back in the hot sun, but that 7 or 8 seconds is something that most people that only drive cars never experience. I was only out riding for about an hour and a half, covering 72 miles, but it made this a very good day indeed.

On the money.
I am fortunate to have good riding roads near me and ride them over and over and also never get bored.
60 to 90+ miles on a combination of routes with only 5 or 6 traffic lights is pretty ok in my book.

Only problem is the aching bones after the ride. ;-)