windows 10 issues?

Discussion in 'TuneECU Source' started by camccardell, Sep 30, 2018.

  1. camccardell

    camccardell.060 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    134
    Featured Threads:
    6
    Media:
    7
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Homer, Michigan
    Ride:
    2007 Rocket 3 Classic Tourer
    Hey guys. I used to be able to use my tube ecu usb cable with my laptop with no issues. It has been some time but i have went to use it again, and no dice. I have also tried another laptop with windows 10. Still nothing. I know it used to work, but now nothing.

    Anyone else have this problem? Any ideas on a fix?

    Chris
     
  2. Jason Jurgens

    Jason JurgensOns gaan nou braai...

    Country:
    Australia
    Messages:
    369
    Featured Threads:
    8
    Likes Received:
    953
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ride:
    2006 Triumph Rocket 3 Classic
    Disable any virus protection/firewall whilst using. Do this before running TuneECU...
     
  3. camccardell

    camccardell.060 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    134
    Featured Threads:
    6
    Media:
    7
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Homer, Michigan
    Ride:
    2007 Rocket 3 Classic Tourer
    done, still no dice yet...

    thanks though
     
  4. atlsrt44

    atlsrt44.040 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    58
    Featured Threads:
    3
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    Ride:
    2018 rocket 3 roadster
    Sure the cable is good?
     
  5. geno

    geno.060 Over

    Messages:
    144
    Featured Threads:
    1
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Eatontown; New Jersey
    Ride:
    2005 triumph rocket 3
    Also be sure to disable internet and WiFi and have the proper driver loaded into your cable; Good luck & "Be Safe!
     
  6. rash_powder

    rash_powderSupercharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    226
    Featured Threads:
    14
    Media:
    3
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Larimore, ND
    Ride:
    2008 Triumph Rocket III Touring
    This summer my cable died. Worked one day and not the next. You most likely will need a new one.
     
  7. Joesmoe

    JoesmoeIMOKUR2 Staff Member

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    3,199
    Featured Threads:
    37
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3,587
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    Ride:
    Triumph: 2014 Rocket III Touring
    I use TuneECU on a laptop with Win10 OS. It is finicky with hookup order.

    First, the cable has a blue indicator light on the OBD connector (mine does anyway) and connecting that to the bike, will show power to the cable immediately, independent of anything else going on.

    I like to connect the cable to the bike and the working computer.

    Then I launch TuneECU, which will see the cable, and not the ECU.

    Then I turn on the ignition (without starting), and that usually starts the communication shown on the diagnostics page.

    If that doesn't start, then I turn off the bike, and then turn it back on, and at that point, I've never not had it make the connection.

    And of course, we would expect issues to increase to the point of TuneECU not working at all, given it is no longer supported.

    Then we'll have to choose between the pay version of that, or TuneBoy, who's still in business.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2018
    mark1400 and barbagris like this.
  8. barbagris

    barbagrisMad Scientist

    Messages:
    7,794
    Featured Threads:
    51
    Media:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7,463
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    On the verge of insanity : Madrid - Spain
    Ride:
    2009 R3-Standard - 1979 Guzzi V1000G5
    Note there are two families of Win10. Home/Pro and Enterprise. The former has LOT's of changes - the Latter very very few.

    I recently created a WIN10 box JUST for TuneECU and PCV software. No issues at all.
    I did use Enterprise - and anybody can legally and for free as a permanent trial.
     
    Joesmoe likes this.
  9. camccardell

    camccardell.060 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    134
    Featured Threads:
    6
    Media:
    7
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Homer, Michigan
    Ride:
    2007 Rocket 3 Classic Tourer
    thanks guys. a night on the battery tender fixed it right up!
     
    Joesmoe likes this.
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice