What Are You Using?

It doesn't matter what you use. If the fabric is not WATERPROOF as in Gortex, rubber or plastiic, you will get wet in any rain other than light showers. No "grease" or silicone spray will insure dryness. I've been doing cross country riding for 40 years and none of them work for real...NONE! I used to grease my leather boots, put them in a warm oven to get the waterproofing agent to get into the leather and the first major rain...wet feet! Silicone sprays and "waterproofing" liquids do fine for 20 minutes and then the inevitable feeling of water against the skin.
Now I use Gortex lined boots and jacket and am totally dry regardless of weather. Just MHO.

For serious long wet rides - OVERSUIT. If you can afford a good 3 layer Goretex suit (not a 2 layer plus drop liner - the drop liners can/will catch on the leathers and will eventually rip) - do it. Forget frills - the fewer seams and stitch holes the better - Taped seams work but the tape can leak eventually. Personally I'm more a fan of surplus military Goretex gear. Rubber and plastic work better than Goretex for shorter periods ime - but tend to form condensation on the inside if used for long periods.

Years back I always had my leathers "proofed" - Good leather food and silicone "sealed". Worked fine for moderate runs around the UK's south coast even in winter but after one LONG run (Innsbruck to my parents) at the end of some holidays - my leathers were so washed out - I threw them away. This was my own stupid fault as I had waterproofs and made the mistake of underestimating a trans-European weather front as a local shower.

Not to mention that there's nothing more uncomfortable than putting wet leathers back on.