rocket31998

Supercharged
How many people out there ride through the winter? I'm in South Central PA and we get reasonably mild winters with periodic snow and ice that usually melts within a couple of days. I have heard some from this area say that they won't ride at all after the roads are treated and put it away until Spring. I, on the other hand, ride whenever and whereever possible once the roads thaw. I figure that a good rain or two make it ok again on the roads. Any opinions regarding the potential danger of corrosion or worse due to chemicals on the roads. I've riden the last two (three now) winters in a row with no evident negative effects, but I'm still pretty new to all this, so any comments would be appreciated! :)

I'm in north central Oklahoma and like you ride pretty much year round as long as the weather is above 50 or so. There has been times over the last couple of winters that you could find a 48 to 50 degree day during the winter and thats all it takes for me to want to jump on the scoot and put 60 or 70 miles under my belt during the warmest part of the day. So to answer your question, Hell yes , we ride most any time we can.

Big T

We would if we could. Ice flow out on East-West road in front of the house that doesn't get much sun is our limiting factor. 'Have threatened to trailer them down to the local paved parking lot a few times. Rides are limited as I dropped the '82 CBC 900 on a shaded corner a few years back - no injury - just don't want to scrape up (or lift) the 800+ lb bike. Limited ride would be nice - flat with no real twisties.

Last ride this year was day after T-Giving. 50 and up for us as well - though can start at 40 if I know it will warm up!

Ride All Winter in Tennessee