Good Old Days (Part 1)

atomsplitter

Living Legend
Ride
17 T-120 Black, 20 Bobber Black, 98 Trophy 1200
A few years ago I was attending a family reunion and to mark the occasion I wrote a story for my siblings that they might or minght not have remembered as well as I since it was from the 1970's. I ran accross the piece the other day while rummaging around my computer files and thought I'd share it with the rest of humanity. The story was too long for a single post so I've broken it up to meet the word count limit. For your reading pleasure I present:

The Good Old Days

A few years back I read a book by Patrick McManus entitled, "How I Got This Way." I then ran across the book again on my shelf recently and that prompted me to thinking.

Back in the mid 1970's I was a poor college student attending Kansas State University (and before anyone jumps to a conclusion about my exiguous cortical functions, grades were not the reason I was a poor student). I was fresh out of a 3 year enlistment in Uncle Sugar's OD Green Club (i.e. US Army) and in need of some entertainment to assuage my lack of convivial female companionship. That's a somewhat euphemistic way of saying I was bored and lonely. At this time in history my older brother Mark had just gotten out of the service as well and had moved his family into a small farm house just outside Junction City, Kansas. My sister Mary had at that time a boyfriend named Ralph, a thin blonde headed kid. Ralph was not in my particular predicament (i.e. he wasn't in college, he had a girlfriend (obviously), and wasn't particularly bored since he worked for a living) but he empathized with my monastic condition (since he'd been there himself until somewhat recently as it happened). Ralph would accompany my sister, Mary, to my older brother Mark's abode from time to time for general fun and frolic on weekends. It was during one of these occasions in the Spring of 1976(?) that Ralph mentioned to me in passing that he had a contact in