ThrottleMeister cruise control gone bad

HeR3tic

Living Legend
No, ThrottleMeister is not a true cruise control; but a darn site easier to install and nearly as effective. After-all what could possibly go wrong.

I rode to work yesterday, just like usual, and all was good. I get on the the beast to head home and the throttle return isn't working. I checked the ThrottleMeister to assure myself that it isn't "on" and that didn't appear to be the case. There's are a lot of touchy feely folks in my office. I get home and tear down and open up access to the linkage between here and there and make a few minor adjustments to take up a smidgen of slack at the throttle linkage but still no joy. I've been running the ThrottleMeister for two years at this point with no issues. But having no idea where the binding was occurring otherwise I began to take off the ThrottleMeister. Immediately the tension on the open throttle was lifted and the throttle returned to 0.

For some reason, as yet to see daylight, the proper fitting had changed. I added another shim and the ThrottleMeister is healed.

You really don't even need the shims! Simply unscrew the screws holding the switches in place and the throttle and move it enough to tighten or loosen the throttle position to adjust the tension on the throttle meister. Easy fix.

Native One

I wish the R3T had an actual cruise control. I'm not sold on the friction actuated stuff. As such, I use a "Cramp Buster". It's not a cruise control. It just allows you to use your palm and give your fingers a rest when time & place permit.

You really don't even need the shims! Simply unscrew the screws holding the switches in place and the throttle and move it enough to tighten or loosen the throttle position to adjust the tension on the throttle meister. Easy fix.

Native One
You surely are speaking of a different Throttlemeister - Home device.