Windows 10 Installation issues with tuneecu

Discussion in 'TuneECU Source' started by Cav Man, Oct 14, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Cav Man

    Cav Man.020 Over

    Country:
    Australia
    Messages:
    31
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Ride:
    2017 Triumph Rocket III Roadster
    So I have a Microsoft Surface Book with Windows 10 Pro on it and recently tried to install tuneecu 2.5.8. Unzipped the files without difficulty but the can't install because the machine is asking for .NET Framework 3.5 (includes .NET 2.0 and 3.0). Said software is nowhere to be found on the Windows update site for Windows 10 although they have it for Windows 7. The installation process crashes when I can't find load the required .NET Framework 3.5 and it won't allow me to bypass.

    Any ideas as to what particular ghost is in the machine?
     
  2. Grumpy Ole Codger

    Grumpy Ole CodgerSlave to the Beast

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    1,522
    Featured Threads:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2,725
    Trophy Points:
    323
    Location:
    Bognor Regis
    Ride:
    2007 Rocket 111 Standard..ish
    @barbagris - I believe this is the sort of question you are better able to answer than I. That is allowing for your undiluted hatred of all things Microsoft..;);):D
     
  3. Tripps

    TrippsRetired superhero

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    4,003
    Featured Threads:
    31
    Likes Received:
    5,089
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Florida and NY
    Ride:
    R3T,Sprintona,K1200,r65,cbr1000rr, Blackbird
    Maybe because Microsoft sucks?
     
  4. barbagris

    barbagrisMad Scientist

    Messages:
    8,098
    Featured Threads:
    51
    Media:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7,832
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    On the verge of insanity : Madrid - Spain
    Ride:
    2009 R3-Standard - 1979 Guzzi V1000G5
  5. Cav Man

    Cav Man.020 Over

    Country:
    Australia
    Messages:
    31
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Ride:
    2017 Triumph Rocket III Roadster

    Thanks Barbagris, gave this a try a few times but...the upgrade process crashes with error code 0x800F081F every time "Windows couldn't find required files to complete requested changes. Make sure you're connected to Internet, and try again. I'm using the same internet connection to add this update and the bandwidth is very high so, needless to say, its not the connection. May have my IT guru at work try to sort it.

    I downloaded the software onto my desktop (also a Windows 10 machine) without a hitch, so its something specific to the laptop.

    Cheers!
     
  6. Cav Man

    Cav Man.020 Over

    Country:
    Australia
    Messages:
    31
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Ride:
    2017 Triumph Rocket III Roadster
    And yet we all have to use it at some point :) Should either be worth a medal or a criminal sentencing....
     
    Tripps likes this.
  7. Cav Man

    Cav Man.020 Over

    Country:
    Australia
    Messages:
    31
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Ride:
    2017 Triumph Rocket III Roadster
    Rest of the story...I was using my company laptop and they don't routinely provide the Net Framework 3.5 software even though it is a standard feature in the software. They also limit access to Windows update for reasons that are unclear at best. Now that we have that sorted, I should be up and running in no time :)
     
    Tripps likes this.
  8. barbagris

    barbagrisMad Scientist

    Messages:
    8,098
    Featured Threads:
    51
    Media:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7,832
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    On the verge of insanity : Madrid - Spain
    Ride:
    2009 R3-Standard - 1979 Guzzi V1000G5
    Not to me they're not. I F*CKING HATE WINDOWS.
     
    Tripps likes this.
  9. MikeCR

    MikeCRR3 n00b

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    52
    Featured Threads:
    1
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Marion Iowa
    Ride:
    2015 Rocket X #112
    The internet seems to agree that reinstalling Windows helps :(
     
  10. John Ward

    John Ward.040 Over

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    90
    Featured Threads:
    2
    Likes Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    York UK
    Ride:
    Rocket 3 Classic 2008
    I use an old netbook with basic windows 7 and tune ecu installed...you can usually pick them up real cheap as no one wants them anymore... or if your real tech minded I also have duel boot on my other laptop so I can boot up into windows 7 or windows 10.... You may not have the correct permissions to install stuff onto a company laptop im afraid...is there no one near you with tune ecu?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice