What you slapping on your Skull?

xlr8tion

Turbocharged
Ride
2016 BMW S1000XR
I have been wearing a Shark RSR helmet for 6 years and I tell you it is a work of art but I have to wear earplugs when on hyperbikes or on the RIII (wind noise) cruising.

Never thought much of it till I borrowed my buds Schuberth C3 Modular and WOW....84 decibels of modular silence. I wore my RSR home and I said I have to get one of those!

Then I saw they were 700 bucks and I said...I am not gonna get one of those.

So I did some research and found an UBER quiet Full face from SHOEI that is quiet as all get out and i only paid 272 dollars for it...It has a 600 MSRP on some variants...

The SHOEI QWEST. Snell and DOT rated and it is an awesome deal at 272 from COMPACC..the QWEST was called a Touring helmet that scared off all the graphic seeking RF 1200 buyers.

Check this excellent comparison from 2010 against the RF1100...

http://www.cruisercustomizing.com/installguides/SHOEI-QWEST-METALLIC.pdf

I did 270 miles today and WOW...I am leaving the Shark RSR at home!

Webbikeworld named the Shoei QWEST the "Helmet of the Year" in 2010

Shoei Qwest Review - webBikeworld

So what are you guys sporting on your noggins and how much is too much before the benefits are lost to the price? In other words....Is a 275 Dollar Shoei QWEST less safe than a 1300 dollar Bell Star?

Last edited:
I have a few I rotate:

An older Shoei, forget the model, buts its ok for slightly chilly days.

When I wear a full face it's usually this though:
Nexx Xr1r.jpg

Doing the to and from work commute, an 11 minute ride, I usually rock a super unsafe, but somehow DOT certified half helm.

I find that you can rapidly dismiss many helmets just go down the checklist:

Does this brand make one that fits my noggin?
Do I care about carbon vs fiberglass vs plastic?
Do I really want to pay that extra for a design vs a solid color?
What is my upper limit on price I am willing and able to pay?