What have I done?

rusty

Turbocharged
Ride
2005 Rocket III
1 week ago today I changed oil & final drive gear grease. I met Pianoman in Leavenworth and rode for a time after that. I rode to work a few days this past week and have put a total of 166 miles on since the service. I had a hard time finding the exact Mobile product for the final gear drive grease designated in the manual or that which was discussed in a "Gear Grease" thread. I gathered from the discussion that there are "3" properties of the final gear grease that are critical: Synthetic oil, meets or exceeds GL-5 requirements and is of a viscosity of 95W. I studied the properties of "Royal Purple Max Gear high performance automotive gear oil" and it met all the above. Although it (Royal Purple) is rated at 75W-140, all other specs seem to meet the requirements. I knew from Flips comments not to run "thick" gear grease in cold weather, which I do not ride in temps below 40 to 45 so I though I'd be safe.