Want to get rid of air filter under seat to make more room

Discussion in 'Custom Mods' started by PaddyO, Apr 23, 2018.

  1. PaddyO

    PaddyO.020 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    32
    Featured Threads:
    1
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Brooksville, FL
    Ride:
    2014 R3T
    I have searched different threads, but have not found the answer to my question. At this point I want to get rid of the air filter under the seat to make room for a power distribution fuse block. If I get filters to go under the bear claw, K&N, Uni, Ram Air or other (still to be decided) will I HAVE to make any changes to the engine map to keep it from running more lean? At this point, everything about my R3T intake and exhaust is stock. If so, what map should I look into with just the filter change?

    Thanks.
     
  2. scot in exile

    scot in exileLiving Legend

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    6,382
    Featured Threads:
    149
    Likes Received:
    6,296
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Fort walton Beach FL, Glenrothes Fife
    Ride:
    2005std, 2011 Carp Roadster, 2001 Tri Adventurer,
    Send Hanso a PM and ask him the same question, going to be getting more air so will probably lean it out a wee bit.
     
  3. sonny

    sonnyLiving Legend

    Messages:
    3,635
    Featured Threads:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5,515
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Henryetta Oklahoma
    Ride:
    rocket three x
    Ran the Ramair for about three months with stock tune. Did do the 12 min. tune. No major issues but was running a bit lean.
     
  4. blip

    blipSupercharged

    Country:
    Canada
    Messages:
    204
    Featured Threads:
    3
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Ride:
    2014 R3 Roadster
    My understanding is that you 'should' however if you have not updated the exhaust it is not a huge deal as the exhaust is the real choke point.

    That said .... doing a map change is really easy and I would recommend it especially if you are making any change to the bike. Hanso is the guru in this area for sure.
     
  5. R-III-R Turbo

    R-III-R TurboShould be R-III-R Supercharged...

    Messages:
    574
    Featured Threads:
    6
    Media:
    45
    Likes Received:
    569
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ride:
    '10 Supercharged Carpenter'd Roadster, 04 Hayabusa
    To answer your question with a short answer, yes, unless you put the K&N RU-5111 under the tank*, that doesn't make enough of a difference to airflow to warrant a remap imo.

    *I assume this works ok with the Touring tank too, perhaps someone can confirm.


    As an alternative suggestion, if you're just looking to fit a fusebox somewhere and do no more, I've one under the left side cover (for constant 12v supplies), also one under the right cover for switched 12v supplies.

    But I would endorse moving air filtration elsewhere 'anyway' just to free up the stock airbox for toolkit, puncture repair stuff, jazz mags, etc.
     
  6. john calvert

    john calvertStandard Bore

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ride:
    triumph rocket roadster
  7. xlr8tion

    xlr8tionTurbocharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    503
    Featured Threads:
    3
    Likes Received:
    227
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Aiken, South Carolina
    Ride:
    2016 BMW S1000XR
    Next rocket I get stays stock...First was the intake....loss of power...Then the Tors and the cops are at my house 3x a week. The death blow was going down the Dolbeck AFR black hole......Only Red Rocket and one other came out5 of that black hole.

    Dont mess with the intake unless you want to map more than Garmin...Its a big Torque loss then you have to do TORS or Paul Brayant pipes then Hans the man with the mapping...I am feeling faint!
     
  8. Boony

    BoonySupercharged

    Country:
    Australia
    Messages:
    401
    Featured Threads:
    4
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    325
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Ride:
    2010 Rocket 3 Roadster. Black and shiny.
    Mine worked fine with the Ramair and the standard exhaust. It was remapped but definitely had a bit more power and torque. Nothing like the increase you get with decent exhaust though...
     
  9. Thedogsbollocks

    Thedogsbollocks.040 Over

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    88
    Featured Threads:
    1
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Florida
    Ride:
    Rocket Roadster 2018
    OMG... I AM IN EXACTLY THE SAME BOAT. FITTED DP’s...Loss power , sound crap , way too muck popping , no map to cure. SHOULD HAVE LEFT THE **** THING ALONE!
    I with you!
     
    xlr8tion likes this.
  10. xlr8tion

    xlr8tionTurbocharged

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    503
    Featured Threads:
    3
    Likes Received:
    227
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Location:
    Aiken, South Carolina
    Ride:
    2016 BMW S1000XR
    Yes I had the ramair...The tors( good luck finding those)....The tors crossover.....The Dolbeck did me in. Mark Dolbeck and his team sell so few of the Dolbeck AFRs for the R3 the first did not work and I had to near go to war to get it fixed with Dolbeck.

    Marks a genius but his crew is not worried about a few Rockets when they are selling the $HIITE of the AFRs to quads etc.

    Red Rocket had good experience but he lives right next to Montana(Dolbecks location) and hes smarter than me(not sayin much there)so it was an unmitigated mapping and futzing disaster.....Tors sounded AWESOME when the bike would run,
    .
    Bike was a Saturn V stock...These engineers KNOW how to get torque sub 2500...Want to shift that 4 to 6 K...start modding.
     
Loading...