Tuneecu Problem ..what happened?

Discussion in 'General Tech Talk' started by Tal, Jan 6, 2018.

  1. Tal

    TalTurbocharged

    Messages:
    726
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Ride:
    2016 Triumph Rocket Roadster ABS A2
    After installing my new progressive forks today, my cobber and i decided to check the tune parameters on my bike, We used a tuneboy cable as the tunecu cable didnt respond. After altering the rev limit and checking speed limit and doing everything supposedly correct, the bike wont start!...No fuel pump or fuel gauge..WTF?...any ideas?
    P.S. checked the fuses and all ok.
     
  2. Bedifferent

    BedifferentOld man on a bike

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    1,067
    Featured Threads:
    20
    Likes Received:
    895
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Coldwater, MI
    Ride:
    2015 Rocket 3 Touring
    Hope ya didn't do what I did once. I had the stop switch on by accident. I never use it and kind of forget about it.
     
  3. Tal

    TalTurbocharged

    Messages:
    726
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Ride:
    2016 Triumph Rocket Roadster ABS A2
    Checked that...i never use it either but my cobber did...I will get it to the dealers and have them throw a r3 tune in it then overlay it with my Tune i have in my computer for the PCV. That at least should get it started cos at the moment it aint goin!...
     
  4. Bedifferent

    BedifferentOld man on a bike

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    1,067
    Featured Threads:
    20
    Likes Received:
    895
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Coldwater, MI
    Ride:
    2015 Rocket 3 Touring
    I wonder if the cable makes a difference? Just curious...if you have your old tune you can drop it back on the ecm? If you can do that and all looks good it should fire up. If things are still dead I might be looking elsewhere. I am not an expert on this...just thinking something else maybe got disturbed. I'm sure others with more knowledge will chime in.
     
  5. Tal

    TalTurbocharged

    Messages:
    726
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Ride:
    2016 Triumph Rocket Roadster ABS A2
    We also think the cable may have been the cause...With the Tuneboy cable which was apparently working (cos the tuneecu one wasn't) it showed the rev limit on the parameters at 6750 and the speed at 299 kms...this made me wonder cos when we did my 2014 Roadster on tuneecu, it showed the rev limit set at 6300 and the top speed was 185kms...quite different.
    I fetched my lonelec cable and we tried to sort it but to no avail...even tho it was working...we must have set something wrong???
     
  6. warp9.9

    warp9.9Pocałuj mnie w dupę

    Messages:
    6,556
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Media:
    14
    Likes Received:
    6,206
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Forest City Illinois
    Ride:
    07 Rocket
    Are you able to link up with any cable (try a fan test) and if so did you try the recover from failed down load yet?
     
  7. Rocket Scientist

    Rocket ScientistGrand Exulted Poobah

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    5,270
    Featured Threads:
    96
    Media:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6,778
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Spring Lake, Michigan
    Ride:
    RED 05' Rocket III standard
    I always use my tuneboy cable with tuneecu. Works fine.
     
    TURBO200R4 likes this.
  8. Tal

    TalTurbocharged

    Messages:
    726
    Featured Threads:
    9
    Media:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Ride:
    2016 Triumph Rocket Roadster ABS A2
    We managed to link ok with my lonelec cable. We had to wait half an hour while my lady fetched it for us.We did check the fuel pump and all was fine. Today we will get the bike into the dealers and have them put a Triumph tune back in then i can overlay my PCV tune on top again...thats the plan at least.
    Its good to know the tuneboy cable is ok to use too..Thanx RS....had us a bit confused as it WASN"T working last time he tried to use it?? Then his Tuneecu cable wasnt working this time, but WAS last time he used it...so had us scratching our heads.
    WE flew thru the conversion of the old fork springs to the new progressives even without the tool, and my cobber had just said"That was a bit too easy!...something must be gonna go wrong!"...and it did!.
     
    Rocket Scientist likes this.
  9. RacerX74

    RacerX7406 R3

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    232
    Featured Threads:
    18
    Likes Received:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Sunny Essex UK
    Ride:
    The Mighty Triumph Rocket lll (06)
    I have only run tuneecu a few times but every time found when I'm done she won't start until I turn the ignition on/off a couple of times and let it sit for a couple of minute and let kinda reboot itself

    also did you pull any fuses you have not put back ?
     
  10. 1K9

    1K9Big Cruisers 4 Me

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    1,236
    Featured Threads:
    1
    Media:
    16
    Likes Received:
    903
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Clear Lake / Houston, Texas
    Ride:
    2007 Rocket III
    Iv posted several times about how temperamental these bikes are :whitstling: You fix'em and they have to think about it overnight :banghead:
     
Loading...