Tuneboy Pods but no tune

stevieB

.020 Over
Yeh I am a newbie and its a dumb question but I got my self some pod filters, the red scruntchy type ones that go under the bearclaw. Recently I removed the secondary butterflies and did the 12 minute tune and it worked great but will that work for the pods if I put them on or do I have to get a Tuneboy or PC3 first?

If the exhaust is stock then you should be fine adding the pods. However, if it starts popping a lot on deceleration it means you're probably running too lean and you'll need to look at doing something to add a little more fuel - PCV, TuneBoy, Tune ECU, Dobeck. Removing secondaries (if you have a Triumph tune) will most likely already have leaned you up more than the pods will. This is because they are used to control air flow to richen your mix at certain points.

Today I installed the pods. I did the 12 minute tune thing and then went for a test ride.

Wow, is this great or what. The bike sounds like a roaring beast and is very responsive and quick. It did backfire once but overall I think it is great. When I can afford to get a Tuneboy or something I will remap but for the meantime this works.

Thanks a bunch Canberra3 for your input.:)

Steve,
Dobeck's cheaper than tuneboy or PC3,
plus ya get back 7% the factory robbed from us
(for our own safety ya understand)
and a nifty gear indicator too.
Get a PC3 or tuneboy an ya gotta hook up your laptop to, and keep up with a cd.
Dobeck is plug an play and nothing to keep up with,
you change something later on, just hit the button to richen it up,
or lean it down, where-ever she runs best.
Course, if you're a computer whiz, then for the price of a $16. cable off e-bay
you could have TuneECU for free.

I just ordered one of those cables and will give this TuneECU a shot but it looks complicated. I was kinda hoping when I plugged it all in it would appear to be a bit easier. Im no computer wizz but dont mind having a go.:)