Tazshido

.040 Over
In an undisclosed location in the Middle East.
Hello all,
I am Tazshido (the way of the berserker) and I am currently overseas in the middle east on a combat tour with the Army (National Guard). My purpose for being on this tour is to save money for a newer, nicer motorcycle (and to serve my great country of course).
I have about 30 years riding experience and have ridden a great many different kinds and brands of bike over those years. The last few have been spent resurecting junkyard finds because I have been short on disposable income (started a 2nd family after a divorce). I find myself finally getting old and slow enough that I need a more comfortable motorcycle but not so old and slow that I need a full dress tour bike. I recently earned my first "Iron Butt" saddle sore 1000 on my current bike (which I am selling to another Soldier), a 1994 CBR600F2 which had to be saved with major surgury after an associate decided to use the shiny side to resurface a roadway. I am going to continue doing some endurance riding, finding that it appeals to me to stay tough in the saddle.
I have wittled my choices down to the Yamaha Royal Star tour deluxe and the Triumph Rocket III tour, mostly because I want more motor than one can have with a V-twin. Has anybody out there owned both of these motorcycles and give me a good comparison of the two? I'd love to hear what you might have to say.
Thanks in advance,
Tazshido

There's a tremendous difference between your choices. Ride one of each and you'll readilly realize the Rocket III has far far more grin; whether that be the R3-Touring or the Standard. The Standard Rocket III is the equivalent of shock and awe. It comes down to follow or lead...If you want to ride with the pack choose a wannabe. If you want to lead...choose the Rocket III: nuf said.

I'm not at all familiar with the CBR600; it looks like a fine starter bike. The Rocket III is a 2300cc.

Last edited: