azbbqer

Supercharged
Ride
2013 R3T
Just talked to my stealer about 10k service. They have me a price of $924 US! Ouch! That's more than I bring home in a week, ...and I'm an engineer!
I think I'll do the oil change myself.
I didn't get an operator's manual from the previous owner. Can someone tell me what filter, oil, and how many quarts?
Thanks!

Just talked to my stealer about 10k service. They have me a price of $924 US! Ouch! That's more than I bring home in a week, ...and I'm an engineer!
I think I'll do the oil change myself.
I didn't get an operator's manual from the previous owner. Can someone tell me what filter, oil, and how many quarts?
Thanks!
Just go to napa and they will hook you up. I use mobile 1 10w/40 6 quarts. And i use a napa or wix filter.

idk has a link to the service manual in his signature.

The oil change is dead easy, definitely don't pay a dealer to do that. I used the K&N KN-204 oil filter ($13.50 from Amazon) and Mobile1 4T 10w40 synthetic (9.97 qt from Walmart). Took a little over 5 quarts. Apparently there were some issues with the K&N filters, you might want to use the OEM if the dealer has a decent price.

Use hi flo filters they are what k&n oil filters used to be before they moved production to china. You can find it on Amazon easy enough just look for rocket 3. You can even get it in chrome. As for oil its 10w40. Oil and filter change requires 1.42 gallons.

I use silkolene personally but any jaso approved motorcycle oil should work.

The tricky thing is making sure to drain from the drain plug as well as both sump plugs.

I would question the dealer what is included in the service. At that price, I would suspect they have old data, and are including a valve check, which involves removing the valve cover and a bunch of stuff under the tank.

Per a number of posts here, Triumph extended the first valve check to 20,000 miles, FWIW.