Run what you brung / shift light

Discussion in 'General Tech Talk' started by RacerX74, Mar 11, 2018.

Tags:
  1. RacerX74

    RacerX7406 R3

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    391
    Featured Threads:
    28
    Likes Received:
    571
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Sunny Essex UK
    Ride:
    The Mighty Triumph Rocket lll (06)
    Every year just down the road from me there's a run what you brung / Test and tune day.
    Standing start 1/4 mile against the clock on a old WWII airfield runway .
    They run 3/4 times a year I think its also part of a street bike drag completion.
    As the name suggest you can run almost anything if nothing else its a good day out .
    Now being local and a bit of a petrol head I have done this before but only in a car .
    What I can confirm is its not as easy as it looks BUT I was thinking of having ago ..if you think about it the R3 is perfect for this sort of thing .
    I want to fit a shift light for oblivious reasons I have tried a couple in the past with little success they don't appear to work on a triple's so well .

    So has anyone ever fitted a one that worked ?

    I don't want to fit a huge tach with a light just want a light like the 2nd gen V max 1700 has standard
     
  2. BillyIndiana

    BillyIndianaRoad rash heals-Freckles grow back-Ride

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    1,326
    Featured Threads:
    41
    Media:
    67
    Likes Received:
    2,908
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Lafayette Indiana
    Ride:
    2015 R3T
    I have not tried this yet, but have been thinking about running my Tune ECU cable under the tank and use the tach on Tune ECU.
    I am not planning on using it a lot. I would just like a visual on what my ears are hearing.
    The engine on the Rocket is so different to the ear.

    Anyone have any input on this?
     
  3. RacerX74

    RacerX7406 R3

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    391
    Featured Threads:
    28
    Likes Received:
    571
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Sunny Essex UK
    Ride:
    The Mighty Triumph Rocket lll (06)
    You mean run tecu on smart phone for or tablet and mount on the bike .............interesting very interesting
     
  4. barbagris

    barbagrisMad Scientist

    Messages:
    7,544
    Featured Threads:
    50
    Media:
    83
    Likes Received:
    7,048
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    On the verge of insanity : Madrid - Spain
    Ride:
    2009 R3-Standard - 1979 Guzzi V1000G5
    I have this Shift light's predecessor - Works well Shift-P2 - Ecliptech Get the plus version and it has extra features. Like staging.
     
  5. RacerX74

    RacerX7406 R3

    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Messages:
    391
    Featured Threads:
    28
    Likes Received:
    571
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Sunny Essex UK
    Ride:
    The Mighty Triumph Rocket lll (06)
    Do you use the signal from the ecu to the tach or straight from the coil ?
     
  6. barbagris

    barbagrisMad Scientist

    Messages:
    7,544
    Featured Threads:
    50
    Media:
    83
    Likes Received:
    7,048
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    On the verge of insanity : Madrid - Spain
    Ride:
    2009 R3-Standard - 1979 Guzzi V1000G5
    I actually drive it from an external device so it acts more like a Speedo. But I would run it off the coil.
    I have a PCV with POD300 display and I'm struck by the fact it can differ a bit from the OEM tacho.
    The PCV uses the injector signal.
    Now whether this is because the tacho is also optimistic or something else I don't know.

    My experience of the support offered by the mfr is very positive. I asked a couple of complex-ish "Whilst not usual could it?" questions and got full disclosure type replies.
     
  7. Claviger

    ClavigerHP Junkie extraordinaire

    Messages:
    4,794
    Featured Threads:
    111
    Media:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5,616
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Olympia Washington
    Ride:
    '14 R3R, '02 Daytona 955i
    phar2slo and Tripps like this.
  8. BigKel

    BigKel242rwhp

    Country:
    Australia
    Messages:
    331
    Featured Threads:
    6
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Mandurah, West Aus
    Ride:
    08 Rocket 3
    MSD 89631 is what I run , works well.
     
  9. Claviger

    ClavigerHP Junkie extraordinaire

    Messages:
    4,794
    Featured Threads:
    111
    Media:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5,616
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Olympia Washington
    Ride:
    '14 R3R, '02 Daytona 955i
    phar2slo likes this.
  10. BillyIndiana

    BillyIndianaRoad rash heals-Freckles grow back-Ride

    Country:
    United States
    Messages:
    1,326
    Featured Threads:
    41
    Media:
    67
    Likes Received:
    2,908
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Lafayette Indiana
    Ride:
    2015 R3T
    Yes I already have a USB cable on the handlebars so I figure I can run Tune ECU on my smart phone. I would just like to run one for a reference so I know the sound of the engine.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice