Rocket 3 for moderately experienced rider?

CKnobby

Standard Bore
Ride
Honda Shadow Spirit
Hi everyone, I've been riding for 4 years now, with the first year being on a Honda Rebel and the past 3 on a Honda Shadow 750. I'm looking at upgrading to a more powerful bike, and have been enthralled by the Rocket 3. So I'm here to ask if you all think that the massive engine size is too big of a jump for a rider with my modest level of experience? For context, I do like to think of myself as a relatively safe rider.

Thanks in advance for everyone's input!

Hi everyone, I've been riding for 4 years now, with the first year being on a Honda Rebel and the past 3 on a Honda Shadow 750. I'm looking at upgrading to a more powerful bike, and have been enthralled by the Rocket 3. So I'm here to ask if you all think that the massive engine size is too big of a jump for a rider with my modest level of experience? For context, I do like to think of myself as a relatively safe rider.

Having also had a Shadow, I can tell you the R3 is a significantly different beast. Honestly, if you respect the power and ride within your capabilities (which will grow over time on these bikes) you'll be fine... Better than fine .. . You'll be hooked on the torque and power. Above 15mph she's VERY nimble. Below and coming to a stop, proper braking, throttle control in the friction zone and handlebar control is critical with the weight. Note, I have a '14 Touring which is about 1100lbs with me on her.
-MIG