R3 Touring ran fine now it won't start

joel

.020 Over
Ride
2008 Rocket III Touring
just bought this 6800 total miles 2008 model in July. I trailered it home from Delaware and took it directly to the local Triumph dealer for a new front tire and inspection. Finally got it back this week and it started running rough on the 10 mile drive home. I did pull into a Sheetz for gas (regular) but it only took about 1 1/2 gallons before it was full. It ran fine in the 2 miles prior to Sheetz but afterwards it would bog down and stumble when I rolled in a bunch of throttle. But the time I got it home it would only idle. Now it won't start at all. Just cranks. Any ideas?

Last edited:
Hey @joel, Just tossing this out there since I'm working through a similar issue now on my 96 Vmax (So here's my two generic non-rocket specific quick thoughts). It never hurts to start with the simplest potential issues first, just so you can rule them out and move on.

I'm new to the rockets, so I haven't even checked mine to see, but I assume there's a stock fuel filter that could be worth a look (My Vmax has one right under the seat that took 2mins to swap out). idk's advise would still hold true, but if you had bad fuel in the tank, the filter would need to be swapped too.

Next easy one that might not be an issue at all, but maybe worth bringing up (This is where I'm at on my Vmax now), maybe check the battery? I know on cars not starting is usually the first symptom of a bad battery (and since our rockets have a 2.3L engine maybe they are closer to cars than most bikes), but an old battery that won't fully recharge can cause some strange symptoms. Might be worth a check

Hey @joel, Just tossing this out there since I'm working through a similar issue now on my 96 Vmax (So here's my two generic non-rocket specific quick thoughts). It never hurts to start with the simplest potential issues first, just so you can rule them out and move on.