r3 newbie with helmet "wind slapping"

atjurhs

.060 Over
Ride
2017 R3 Roadster
hey guys,

i'm relatively new to the r3. before the r3, i never road with a fairing or a shield. all my riding was just around town, no long trips so i didn't need one. but with the r3, i'm taking longer rides.... but after riding her for a +300mile ride my shoulders were killing me from the constant force of the wind at 60-80mph, so i decided i needed a fairing or a shield. the shield was cheap, but it gave a lot of turbulence so my eyeballs were rattling around in my head (more so than usual). tried lowering and raising it, all the same, no difference. so i popped for a Corbin fairing (price tag yikes!). tried both the taller and shorter glass above the fairing, and i opted for the taller one, my eyeballs weren't rattling around in my head as much.

BUT the "wind slapping" against my helmet is noisy at speeds above 50mph (and gets worse as i go faster) and makes it impossible to have any sort of a bluetooth sound system in the helmet.

my question is...

is there a certain type/style of helmet that is more aerodynamic so to reduce the "wind slapping"?

i currently ride with a Biltwell Gringo helmet. it fits well, i like it but it has no bluetooth sound system and with all the "wind slapping" there's no reason to put one in it. i would like to have a helmet that i can put a Sena bluetooth sound system in so i can listen to tunes as i ride.

what say ye?

thanks!

Todd

You really need a good fitting, good quality helmet. In my opinion, pretty much any helmet less than $300 or more just won't provide the noise deadening or the comfort. I run currently a Schuberth M1 with a Sena S20. the S20 is superior to the many sound systems I have tried in the last 5 years! I would also recommend not to use the proprietary sound system because the two that I have tried were grossly inferior to the Sena.