Primacy lc radial tire for r3t

steelboss

.040 Over
Hi, :)
I am new to R3 and I have just bought a 2008 R3T. I have owned a number of rides since 1978 and my last was a Kawasaki 600 Ninja. I was all set to buy a Goldwing…something I had fantasized about for the past 30 years and the Goldwing “Deals Gap” video :eek:(Google it) made me crazy to start touring. Anyway, I was concerned about the 2-wheeled Winnebago image and started looking at the Kawasaki GTR1400. And then I stumbled upon the Rocket…and the rest is history.

Ok, so I got the bike and I ride in China…absolutely wonderful touring through ancient villages, old stone bridges, temples, and farmland just breathtaking.
Except for the part where I twist back the throttle and the rear wheel spins like it was buttering a muffin.;) Rear braking is horrifying unless you get a kick out if seeing your panniers moonwalking in the mirrors..:eek: I am getting ready to get J-piped and Tune-jobbed so this spinning can only get worse. I spent 2 weeks ready R3 forums and I have rented a cubicle on the dark side.
A number if riders seem to agree that the Conti 205-60-16 is the tire of choice if you are willing to cross the void. So I did some checking on the world’s largest online shopping platform (based in China) and I found a tire that I think is better than the Conti. I studied the tread patterns on many (car) tires made by Dunlop, Bridgestone, Pirelli, Michelin, Goodyear, Yokohama, and a handful of other Western & Asian brands. Many of the tires do not have symmetrical patterns leading away from the center; meaning one side is different than the other = handling & wear differences depending on if you are leaning left or right??... For others, such as “large V” pattern sport radials, the spaces are too large, equaling less rubber; and then finally, others that have symmetrical patterns and good spacing, have a solid, unbroken centerline rib, which is not good for water shedding and traction at the center.