Pianoman's Seatbelt Poll

Because you ride a motorcycle without a seat belt, are you more inclined to wear one

• Yes: I always wear a seat belt

Votes: 41 87.2%
  • Sometimes: Depending on what speed or road I'm driving

Votes: 4 8.5%
  • Never: After riding the motorcycle... I feel safe in a car

Votes: 2 4.3%

• Total voters

Toystoretom

Living Legend
Pianoman writes:

After getting off the Rocket yesterday, and getting into my cager, I drove several miles before I realized I had not hooked my seat belt. It got me thinking that I do that a lot. I'm wondering if after riding through traffic on two wheels, without a seat belt, that getting into a vehicle with four wheels gives one a false sense of security.

I've gotten in the habit of wearing my belt/harness all the time. Couple of reasons. The most important is because I'm a certified driving instructor I have to set an example to the students, it's part of the syllabus and has to do with the safety aspect. Secondly, here in Michigan, it seems cops have 20-20 or better vision and are always looking for no seat belts to pull you over under those pretenses and then write you for anything else they can. I don't give them the chance. I can't afford it from either my wallet or my Instructors license.

Having said that, I never wear my seatbelt in the farm tractors even though they are all equipped and have warning stickers. The belt restricts my movement in the cab too much especially looking back which I have to do all the time in order to watch what the implement is doing. The seat swivels 30 degrees each way but the belt is too confining anyway. I've had a lot of cops pass me when I'm in the tractor but I've never been stopped for no belt use...I guess they don't realize tractors have safety belts too.