Oil pressure gauge for R3T

ZoneIII

Supercharged
Ride
2015 Triumph Rocket III Touring
Has anyone here installed a oil pressure gauge on their R3T? If so, what was involved in the installation? Where did you mount it? A picture would be great.

The reason I ask is my 2015 R3T oil pressure light is coming on AGAIN. It goes on and off. (Yes, I know how serious OP is. I've been working on engines for over 50 years but I'm confident that it's just the OP sending unit that failed last year in the middle of nowhere on a 6,000 mile road trip. At that time, even though the engine ran great with no unusual engine noise or performance issues, I got to the nearest town and had it towed about 100 miles to a Triumph dealership to be safe. Now it's doing the same thing. It's going in to my local Triumph shop on Thursday and still covered under warranty but I'd like to install an oil pressure gauge for peace of mind. I'll let Triumph fix it again. But since this has happened twice now, it's time to think about installing an OPG.

Last edited:
The way we used to do this...and I sure you remember....the sending unit is in an oil gallery, so you'd hook your gauge there. Simply remove the factory sender and substitute the new gauge's sender with an adapter that is usually found in the kit. Where to mount the gauge...well there are generic handlebar mounts to be had just about any motorcycle parts website.

The way we used to do this...and I sure you remember....the sending unit is in an oil gallery, so you'd hook your gauge there. Simply remove the factory sender and substitute the new gauge's sender with an adapter that is usually found in the kit. Where to mount the gauge...well there are generic handlebar mounts to be had just about any motorcycle parts website.

Thanks, Rocket John.