newbie has another kinda seat question

pugpower

.020 Over
Hi all,

1st post from a newbie here but I'm gonna jump right in.Completely stoked having just bought an '05 Rocket that has 2,434 miles!!!
I can't believe anyone would let this machine sit like this but I'm getting ready to put some miles on this "new" bike. I ride 2 up better than 90% of the time. I'm looking at taking this bike right to the dealer and getting leather bags, oil change, new tune, etc. Wife sits on similar bike in the showroom and says her legs hit the leather bags when she sits on the bike. I've been reading many posts and haven't seen quite this problem. Wife's not a big girl but stock seat is a little narrow. Seems she needs 1" higher (came to this conclusion by having her sit on a small phone book). Worried about getting something too wide because then bags won't open. Short of duct taping the 1" phone book to the seat (yeah I saw that one coming) Is my only option sending seat away and getting it redone? Saw this ButtyBuddy thing but looks like it would look worse than taping the phonebook to the seat. Any help? :?

Thanks,

Sam

you could buy her a pad, or a small travel pillow, I actually took my seat to a local upholstery guy and asked him to make it an inch higher with more paddign etc... that was ok, she really liked the gel seat, the factory touring seat/classic is a nice upgrade as well, the corbins and others are much higher then stock also, keep searchign and you'll see pics

Pug, might I suggest that you watch this forum for a bit before doing anything. Some immediate comments:

Bags: There are some good options out there so don't jump into this one before exploring them for a bit. Bags are a bit pricey and you want to do it right the first time. I have an 07 Classic with the Triumph bags, which would not be my first choice if I had to buy them on the after market.