Gene Windell

.020 Over
Hi Folks,

I'm a retired Army officer, living in the small town of Jasper, Indiana and I've been the happy owner of a red '06 Rocket III std. for about a week.

I rode a lot as a teenager back in the 1960s, and then intermittantly in the '70s and early '80s. But up until a year ago, I hadn't ridden a motorcycle since 1982 - or even thought about it. Well, I got the bug again but I wasn't confident about any riding skills I may have retained over that 25 year hiatus- so I decided to get something small enough I was sure I could handle, and this turned out to be a '95 Yamaha Virago 750.

It seems like I enjoy riding now even more than I did back in my younger days, and the Virago and I covered 12,000 miles together in the past 12 months. I'll ride rain or shine, day or night, hot or cold, Summer or Winter, short distance or long . . . . I really enjoy riding! And actually, I would probably still contentedly be riding the Virago 750 if not for 2 things: first, I'm 6'2" tall and the Virago was designed for riders of a shorter stature - becoming rather uncomfortable on longer rides due to lack of leg room. And second, I was always taking a lot of ribbing from the guys I rode with about the Virago being a "girl's bike."

So I decided to get something bigger, a lot bigger. I like the cruiser bike seating and riding posture, but am not really a big fan of the V-twin engine - which really narrows the choices down quite a bit. I was seriously considering the Honda Valkyrie, but had reservations about keeping those 6 carbinators in tune. Finally, I decided that the Rocket III was really what I wanted - though I'd never ridden one and had only seen 1 up close in real life.