New Member Checking in

geneseo1911

Naturally Aspirated
Ride
2007 Rocket Classic, 2018 Rocket Roadster
I've been lurking for a couple weeks now, I have a couple questions (which I will post in a more appropriate place), so I figured I ought to introduce myself first.

I started riding when I turned 18 on a '78 Goldwing I re-built from a box of parts. Rode all through college, but quit when I started my family, mainly because I didn't have a place to store the bike at the time. Now, 7 years later, I pulled the 'wing out to get her running and sell, but the bug bit me again, and I've probably put on 4000 miles this summer.

I started to get a desire for something more modern and a little quicker. I live in East Central Illinois, and around here we don't have many curves, so fun on a motorcycle equates to acceleration. I don't like the look or riding position of super sports, the VMAX looks too 'v-twin'ish, the V-rod IS too v-twinish (not a v-twin fan for a lot of reasons), and the Diavel is hideous. But when I saw the Rocket....I knew I had to have one.

I instantly fell in love with the massive longitudinal engine, which is reminiscent of some of the most beautiful motorcycles ever made IMO; the 4 cylinder Indians. I love to see a motorcycle that is 'all engine'. My Goldwing, MotoGuzzis, R series BMW's, naked sportbikes. Basically anything but a V-Twin, lol.

So after riding a new Roadster (which is still what I REALLY want), I found a cheap '07 Classic on Craigslist, and rode her home. After cleaning up a few wiring messes, and loading a decent tune, the bike is unbelievable. I have a few little things to do, but I'm pretty happy. The bike came with Jardine exhaust, airbox delete, sissybar, short windshield (which I'm going to sell, did I mention I like naked bikes?), Triumph bags, PIAA driving lights, and Triumph 'dresser bars' (the flimsy ones) and highway pegs.

Anyway, TLDR version:
Bought this, happy now:
View media item 10443View media item 10442