ChrisACT

Supercharged
Ride
2006 Rocket III Special Edition
There are a few threads on how piddly the Rocket 3 horn is and various replacement options.

I've decided to go with these:

I decided to go by what I thought the horns actually sounded like. The tone, rather than the alleged sound pressure. I like the sound of these. Most air horns, especially compact horns like the Stebel Nautilus and Denali SoundBomb, are higher pitched than I want. To get lower pitched airhorns means they're so long it's very difficult to install on a bike.

Going by the spec, they're not the loudest around. But then, I was an audio engineer for 20 years and I reckon that the dB rating on all horns is mostly just marketing lies anyway. Firstly, 112dB doesn't actually mean anything. Nor does any other number with dB after it.

The decibel is not a hard unit of measurement. It's a ratio therefore it needs a reference. dB what? SPL? A weighted? C weighted? It is truly meaningless without a reference. And unless all horn manufacturers are using the same reference, comparison by the quoted specs is impossible anyway.

Another advantage of these is that they only draw about 5 amps for both of them so I don't have to use a relay.

The next trick is to mount the buggers. And for that I'm getting these:

pia-74005_xl.jpg

They grip onto the crash bars and I can mount the horns to them. Should be able to get them in pretty snug to the engine in behind the radiator. Once I have it all installed I'll post pics of it.

Last edited:
There are a few threads on how piddly the Rocket 3 horn is and various replacement options.

I've decided to go with these: