atomsplitter

Living Legend
Ride
17 T-120 Black, 20 Bobber Black, 98 Trophy 1200
The dot com folks are aware of this so I thought I should also let this site know I have a book coming out about motorcycle reclamation. "Lessons in Lunacy: Confessions of a Motorcycle Nut," is clearing some hurddles at the publisher (rewrites are really fun, like self inflicted vasectomies). Should be published sometime in November (unless I need another rewrite).

So you have a "taste" of what this book is about, here's a bit of Chapter 1.

Why Me, And The Steep End Of The Learning Curve

Years ago when I started in the nuclear industry as an Operator trainee I learned that there is such a thing as the ‘steep end of the learning curve.’ Academic types talk about a bell curve of knowledge where the student knows nothing (at the bottom) and progresses up the curve. The slope of the curve is determined by the amount of information needed to be digested during the learning activities. The average nuclear training day is about eight hours long and it typically covers a myriad of technically complex topics. In comparison to college classes (I have a BS degree from Kansas State University) nuclear training classes were like drinking from a two and half inch fire hose with a straight bore nozzle to college’s garden hose. Once you have gained some knowledge the curve’s slope flattens out near the top of the bell where supposedly ‘integration’ takes place by the student, but I have found that you can just as easily slide back down the slippery slope of ignorance back to the beginning.